Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
DeXa
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 28, 2013 12:50 pm
Full Name: Ivo Trankolov
Contact:

Is Veeam Backup & Replication still 32 bit?

Post by DeXa » Feb 28, 2013 1:07 pm

I am asking this question, because I've noticed that one of our proxy servers also a Repository, sees only 4GB of RAM?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam Backup & Replication still 32 bit?

Post by veremin » Feb 28, 2013 1:19 pm

If you've meant Veeam Agents that are deployed on proxy servers/repositories, they are still 32-bit.

Thanks.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam Backup & Replication still 32 bit?

Post by tsightler » Feb 28, 2013 1:28 pm

But that doesn't have anything to do with how much memory the OS sees. The VeeamAgent.exe is indeed 32-bit, so each one can only grow to the maximum size of a 32-bit process in Windows (~2GB). However, since each job has it's own VeeamAgent.exe if you are running multiple jobs, Veeam can easily take advantages of more host OS memory.

DeXa
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 28, 2013 12:50 pm
Full Name: Ivo Trankolov
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam Backup & Replication still 32 bit?

Post by DeXa » Feb 28, 2013 2:33 pm

By proxy server I meant the Veeam Agent. The OS sees 32GB. I am trying to run as less as possible backup jobs, because of deduplication. Are there any plans for 64bit Agents?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam Backup & Replication still 32 bit?

Post by tsightler » Feb 28, 2013 4:59 pm 1 person likes this post

There are plans to introduce 64-bit agents at some point in the future. For now, I would strongly suggest that you create your backup jobs with reasonable sizes. The closer you get to the maximum memory limits the more likely you will be to have poor backup performance and random job failures as the address space is exhausted. The small increase in extra disk space due to loss of a little dedupe is a small price to pay for faster, more reliable backups.

DeXa
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 28, 2013 12:50 pm
Full Name: Ivo Trankolov
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam Backup & Replication still 32 bit?

Post by DeXa » Mar 01, 2013 11:43 am

Yeah, right ... but with more jobs it will take more time and if i run them at once they will kill the storage ... whatever. So I'll just wait for the release.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 33 guests