Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
iua2008
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 27, 2014 9:16 pm

Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by iua2008 » Sep 27, 2014 9:25 pm

Has anyone heard if Veeam are considering expanding their support for other Virtualisation platforms?

Looks like Veeam competitors are moving for KVM support. http://www.acronis.com/en-au/business/b ... nced/rhev/

We have migrated from VMWare to Proxmox (KVM+Openvz) so if Veeam don't offer a solution looks like we will be ending our Veeam subscription at expiry date.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23199
Liked: 2964 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by Gostev » Sep 27, 2014 10:05 pm

Hello! We are monitoring the market closely, and are ready to add support for other hypervisors as soon as it will make business sense for us (basically, when any one of them grabs notable market share). In your case, there is unfortunately no other option but to look for another backup solution, because you have already migrated to KVM and need to be performing backups right now. You really cannot afford having your data unprotected. Thanks!

iua2008
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 27, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by iua2008 » Oct 07, 2014 8:29 pm

Thanks Anton,

We are doing backups now utilising the Proxmox native vzdump utility :-)

Just thought it would be nice if we could transition backup tools so we have both historical and current backups on same platform.

Thanks,
Allan.

dgapinski
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by dgapinski » Jun 24, 2015 7:21 pm

I've been looking at Nutanix hosts, which can use KVM as their visor. I'd really like to not dump Veeam if I made such a move. The management & storage features of Nutanix look very promising.

toffitomek
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 24, 2013 3:07 pm
Full Name: Tomasz Foltman
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by toffitomek » Jul 06, 2015 10:57 am

Same here. Veeam - KVM thanks to Nutanix may be next hot topic...

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21708
Liked: 1305 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 06, 2015 1:09 pm

Currently there are no changes in terms of KVM support. Thanks!

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23199
Liked: 2964 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by Gostev » Jul 06, 2015 2:07 pm

toffitomek wrote:KVM thanks to Nutanix may be next hot topic
We will be there momentarily, as soon it does become a hot topic ;)

Giacomo_N
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 15, 2013 1:56 pm
Full Name: Giacomo
Location: Vicenza, Italy
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by Giacomo_N » Jul 10, 2015 10:01 pm

Same here, we are evaluating nutanix or simplivity for the next year HW change, very interesting the next nutanix things like the custom hypervisor "Acropolis" KVM based, totally free with more features!

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5539
Liked: 1535 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by dellock6 » Jul 12, 2015 9:23 pm

Totally free on top of a very non-free platform ;)
I understand the reason for this request, but the hypervisor license is just a part of price of an hyperconverged platform. And just to say, you can run hyper-v free and this one is totally supported by Veeam now ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016-2017-2018
Veeam VMCE #1

jroot
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 29, 2010 2:30 pm
Full Name: Jim Root
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by jroot » Jul 15, 2015 9:21 pm

Made the jump to four nodes of Nutanix last month and we are not looking back. Adding another four in October. Still using VMware for the hypervisor and I just saw that Luca and Derek have a best practices whitepaper out for Nutanix with VMware and Veeam. We are going to load Nutanix CE on the hardware we just decommissioned and see if this can be a nice repository target (as long as we can get the 10Gb cards purchased soon). We also want to gain experience on Acropolis since it only makes sense that Veeam will add another powerful hypervisor to their now industry standard B&R product. ;)

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5539
Liked: 1535 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by dellock6 » Jul 15, 2015 10:11 pm

Thanks for the kind words on the paper. Just a note a bit OT on this thread: I'm testing a new solutions for Nutanix+vSphere backups, results are promising and hopefully I will have a couple of blog posts coming out soon even before updating the whitepaper ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016-2017-2018
Veeam VMCE #1

pacegmbh
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 21, 2012 5:54 am
Full Name: J.Busch
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by pacegmbh » Jul 31, 2015 8:51 am

Hi Veeam Team,
just to add another vote.
NUTANIX along with Acropolis seems very promising to us as well.

Backups have never been easier before VEEAM and NUTANIX seems to do the same for hyperconverged virtualization.
VEEAM and NUTANIX seem to be a perfect couple, so I'd love to see both together.

Cheers

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23199
Liked: 2964 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by Gostev » Jul 31, 2015 9:07 pm

But vast majority of Nutanix customers are using VMware...

baracudoz
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 21, 2015 8:51 am
Full Name: Barton Dozier
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by baracudoz » Sep 21, 2015 8:59 am

hi Jroot,
Are you planning to use VEEAM replication to copy onto a DR site with Nutanix CE ? As Nutanix CE is based on KVM, I wonder if that works.
Baracudoz

frankL
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 22, 2015 7:37 pm
Full Name: Frank
Contact:

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Post by frankL » Oct 22, 2015 7:42 pm

Hosting provider here, no vmware or hyper-v, only Xen (old servers) and KVM (new servers). Would love Veaam for KVM!

PS: hyper-v is not free: it's only free if you license all your servers for Windows. As we run 98% Linux and only 2% (probably even less) Windows, Hyper-V is certainly not free...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 34 guests