Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby iua2008 » Sat Sep 27, 2014 9:25 pm

Has anyone heard if Veeam are considering expanding their support for other Virtualisation platforms?

Looks like Veeam competitors are moving for KVM support. http://www.acronis.com/en-au/business/b ... nced/rhev/

We have migrated from VMWare to Proxmox (KVM+Openvz) so if Veeam don't offer a solution looks like we will be ending our Veeam subscription at expiry date.
iua2008
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:05 pm

Hello! We are monitoring the market closely, and are ready to add support for other hypervisors as soon as it will make business sense for us (basically, when any one of them grabs notable market share). In your case, there is unfortunately no other option but to look for another backup solution, because you have already migrated to KVM and need to be performing backups right now. You really cannot afford having your data unprotected. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21166
Liked: 2304 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby iua2008 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:29 pm

Thanks Anton,

We are doing backups now utilising the Proxmox native vzdump utility :-)

Just thought it would be nice if we could transition backup tools so we have both historical and current backups on same platform.

Thanks,
Allan.
iua2008
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby dgapinski » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:21 pm

I've been looking at Nutanix hosts, which can use KVM as their visor. I'd really like to not dump Veeam if I made such a move. The management & storage features of Nutanix look very promising.
dgapinski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby toffitomek » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:57 am

Same here. Veeam - KVM thanks to Nutanix may be next hot topic...
toffitomek
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 3:07 pm
Full Name: Tomasz Foltman

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:09 pm

Currently there are no changes in terms of KVM support. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:07 pm

toffitomek wrote:KVM thanks to Nutanix may be next hot topic

We will be there momentarily, as soon it does become a hot topic ;)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21166
Liked: 2304 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby Giacomo_N » Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:01 pm

Same here, we are evaluating nutanix or simplivity for the next year HW change, very interesting the next nutanix things like the custom hypervisor "Acropolis" KVM based, totally free with more features!
Giacomo_N
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:56 pm
Location: Vicenza - Italy
Full Name: Giacomo Nichele

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:23 pm

Totally free on top of a very non-free platform ;)
I understand the reason for this request, but the hypervisor license is just a part of price of an hyperconverged platform. And just to say, you can run hyper-v free and this one is totally supported by Veeam now ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4876
Liked: 1280 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby jroot » Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:21 pm

Made the jump to four nodes of Nutanix last month and we are not looking back. Adding another four in October. Still using VMware for the hypervisor and I just saw that Luca and Derek have a best practices whitepaper out for Nutanix with VMware and Veeam. We are going to load Nutanix CE on the hardware we just decommissioned and see if this can be a nice repository target (as long as we can get the 10Gb cards purchased soon). We also want to gain experience on Acropolis since it only makes sense that Veeam will add another powerful hypervisor to their now industry standard B&R product. ;)
jroot
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:30 pm
Full Name: Jim Root

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:11 pm

Thanks for the kind words on the paper. Just a note a bit OT on this thread: I'm testing a new solutions for Nutanix+vSphere backups, results are promising and hopefully I will have a couple of blog posts coming out soon even before updating the whitepaper ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4876
Liked: 1280 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby pacegmbh » Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:51 am

Hi Veeam Team,
just to add another vote.
NUTANIX along with Acropolis seems very promising to us as well.

Backups have never been easier before VEEAM and NUTANIX seems to do the same for hyperconverged virtualization.
VEEAM and NUTANIX seem to be a perfect couple, so I'd love to see both together.

Cheers
pacegmbh
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:54 am
Full Name: J.Busch

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:07 pm

But vast majority of Nutanix customers are using VMware...
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21166
Liked: 2304 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby baracudoz » Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:59 am

hi Jroot,
Are you planning to use VEEAM replication to copy onto a DR site with Nutanix CE ? As Nutanix CE is based on KVM, I wonder if that works.
Baracudoz
baracudoz
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:51 am
Full Name: Barton Dozier

Re: Is Veeam doing anything in KVM space?

Veeam Logoby frankL » Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:42 pm

Hosting provider here, no vmware or hyper-v, only Xen (old servers) and KVM (new servers). Would love Veaam for KVM!

PS: hyper-v is not free: it's only free if you license all your servers for Windows. As we run 98% Linux and only 2% (probably even less) Windows, Hyper-V is certainly not free...
frankL
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:37 pm
Full Name: Frank

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nicopappageorgio and 13 guests