Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
mingji
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 26, 2015 2:05 am
Full Name: MJ
Contact:

Issue using VeeaMover to move between Linux Hardened Repo

Post by mingji »

Already logged a case 05967441 but want some suggestions here.

Basic settings: 2 Hardened Repositories, both XFS
1 Backup Copy job target is Repo 1. However, Repo1 is running out of space so we plan to move Backup Copy data to Repo 2.
Upgraded VBR to v12 so that we can use VeeaMover to keep block cloning info for space saving.

Edited Backup Copy job, changed target repository to Repo 2, selected Move Existing backups to new location then started job.
Job failed with an error message
"Error: More than one backup was found for the same job (fbc3****-****-****-****-5ead2e3****): VMNAME Backup Copy (42ea****-****-****-****-****) VMNAME Backup Copy (1753****-****-****-****-****) "

Support suggested 2 ways 1. remove backups from the configuration database then rescan/remap it, or 2. Create a new backup copy job then move
Tried both but still not working: the first solution still has the same issue. the second one will create a new chain which can be copied to new repository, but old chain became orphaned (still can't copy/move)
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8923
Liked: 2360 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Issue using VeeaMover to move between Linux Hardened Repo

Post by Mildur »

Hello MJ

Thank you for the case number.
I don't believe someone from the community or product management will be able to solve this over a forum post.
If Repo2 didn't had any backups of this job, then move should work. If there is a message, that backups already exists for this job, then it may be a bug. My recommendation is to keep working with support.
the second one will create a new chain which can be copied to new repository, but old chain became orphaned (still can't copy/move)
Have you mapped the new copy job to the old backup chain? Without mapping, a new Chain will be started.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
MattElsberry
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2023 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt E.
Contact:

Re: Issue using VeeaMover to move between Linux Hardened Repo

Post by MattElsberry »

We are having the same issue 2 out of 3 Immutable copy jobs are yielding this message.
criso
Service Provider
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2021 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue using VeeaMover to move between Linux Hardened Repo

Post by criso » 2 people like this post

Had the same issue but with regular backup jobs: after we selected the new repo the move job failed because there was a backup copy job locking the files in the source repo; trying to edit or run the backup job gave me the error "More than one backup was found for the same job".

Solution for me was:
-List jobs trough PowerShell (Get-VBRBackup | ft Name,ID,CreationTime)
-Find duplicated job ID (hint: Creation Time is newer than the original job ID)
-Delete duplicated job through PowerShell (Remove-VBRBackup -Backup "Put_your_job_ID_here"
-Edit your original job and change its target to the source (old) repo again
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: evandrosp, rpost, ysalem and 91 guests