Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
mwant
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 10:33 am
Full Name: m want
Contact:

Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by mwant » Jul 04, 2019 8:58 am

2-3 months ago we bought from new B&R Enterprise perpetual licences for 8 sockets (all 8 used) and 6 instances (0 used).

We now have an additional requirement to backup 2 physical Windows servers so we have gone to our supplier and been told that we can no longer buy additional licenses for perpetual and will need to upgrade the whole thing to subscription based licensing to be able to add 3 instances (2x1.5).

Is this correct? It doesn't feel right having just paid a lot of money for the perpetual licenses that we now need to shell out a not insubstantial sum for an extra 2 physical servers. :?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1805
Liked: 229 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by DGrinev » Jul 04, 2019 9:53 am

Hi,

Veeam Agents have always been available via subscription license only, so there is no change in the licensing model. Since you're talking about instances, I bet you're using Veeam B&R 9.5 U4, right?

You can use built-in instances (6 free instances), it should be enough to cover those 2 physical Windows servers.
Please review the conversion table for additional information.

Thanks!

mwant
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 10:33 am
Full Name: m want
Contact:

Re: Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by mwant » Jul 04, 2019 2:32 pm

I am on that version.

I'm still not sure how I use those instances as I have configured a backup job that requires the agent and its saying I'm not licensed? Does it not find the licence automatically?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3668 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by Gostev » Jul 04, 2019 2:41 pm

It clearly does find the license, because you can see those gifted instances in the License Information dialog, as per your first post. So, I am not sure what are you doing wrong, or what error you're getting. Perhaps it would be best for you to investigate this with support, as there are no known issues with the gifted instances. Please post the support case ID in this topic for our reference. Thanks!

mwant
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 10:33 am
Full Name: m want
Contact:

Re: Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by mwant » Jul 04, 2019 3:17 pm

I can't argue with Gostev can I?

Case #03650720

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3668 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by Gostev » Jul 04, 2019 3:50 pm

Thanks! We will make it work, since it is supposed to work exactly the way you need it to work :D

mwant
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 10:33 am
Full Name: m want
Contact:

Re: Licensing for Windows Agent on Enterprise perpetual

Post by mwant » Jul 05, 2019 7:29 am 1 person likes this post

I admit that the answer was staring me right in the face and I didn't notice it. I hadn't ticked the Allow unlicensed agents to consume instances. The job is now running.

Thanks to support and to the eternal never flagging Gostev :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nmdange and 14 guests