Licensing Requirement for Permanent Failover/Failback Setup

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Licensing Requirement for Permanent Failover/Failback Setup

Veeam Logoby garymansell » Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:33 am

We have two VMware Clusters at two separate locations separated by a fast WAN link and we will have Veeam installed for local backup at each location and each Veeam server will be configured to "pull" replicate business critical remote VM's to the local site for DR purposes. We want to do "pull" replication instead of "push" so that the failover plan's and Re-IP rules can be quickly and easily applied to the servers at the DR site.

Several of our critical systems consist of database systems whose performance is severely negatively affected by running from multiple snapshot (restore points) when running at the DR location, so we have decided that in time of disaster we will have to do a permanent failover to the remote site and then manually set the replication back (by means of a temporary replication job using the original source vm's as seeds) to the source site when it is available again to restore the systems to their original locations and configurations.

Each Veeam server will be licensed for it's own VMware cluster nodes at the local site, but not for the remote site nodes - will this licensing allow me to do what I want to achieve?

ie can each Veeam server do "pull" replication from the remote cluster to the local site without being licensed for the remote nodes?

Rgds

Gary
garymansell
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:31 pm

Re: Licensing Requirement for Permanent Failover/Failback Se

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:41 pm

Hi Gary, to implement this kind of setup, you need a license that covers both clusters to be added in both Veeam B&R installations.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Licensing Requirement for Permanent Failover/Failback Se

Veeam Logoby garymansell » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:52 pm

This is what I was presuming - I need to ensure that all VM hosts x sockets at both locations are licensed (once) and then install this license for all machines at both sites on both Veeam installations.

Is it possible to add the same license to both Veeam installs, then, or will this be a problem?
garymansell
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:31 pm

Re: Licensing Requirement for Permanent Failover/Failback Se

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:54 pm

Since this is the same environment, this is possible.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Can Multiple B&R servers share licenses Case #02187

Veeam Logoby skprmark » Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:06 pm

I have one B&R server with my Veeam licenses in it. However I have a customer who wants full access to the B&R server so they can control Fail Back and undo processes for their VMs. I gave them an account on the Backup Enterprise Manager but it only allows Undo. They need Failback so changes made on the Replica are sent back to the original VM when it is brought back online.

My question is is there any way to license a second B&R server without having to get another license file. Can the two B&R servers share the same license key somehow?

Thanks
skprmark
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:58 pm
Location: More than likely I am in the data center
Full Name: skprmark

Re: Can Multiple B&R servers share licenses Case #02187786

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:50 pm

Hi,

You can use the same license key with another server installation as long as your license key covers the entire source infrastructure.
Please review this existing discussion above.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 378
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Fwiler and 34 guests