Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
sergeadam
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 5:21 pm
Full Name: Serge Adam
Contact:

Licensing

Post by sergeadam » Apr 11, 2013 7:18 pm

Can Tier-A and Tier-B licenses be combined in a single licence file? I have a mix of 6 and 8 cores servers and a single Enterprise server.

And you really have to go to additive licenses. Every time I acquire a host, I end up with a license for that host, and then a combined license. The potential for abuse is great.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24621
Liked: 3465 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Licensing

Post by Gostev » Apr 11, 2013 9:16 pm

Hi Serge, no different tiers cannot be combined into a single license file. We are considering some changes in v7 which should simplify licensing. Thanks for your feedback!

jlester
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2010 1:59 pm
Full Name: Jason Lester
Contact:

Re: Licensing

Post by jlester » Apr 12, 2013 1:34 am

Gostev,

I just upgraded four of my CPU licenses from Tier A to Tier B for two servers that are being upgraded from dual/4-core to dual/8-core models. I also purchased two new Tier B CPU licenses and renewed support for all of our other CPUs. I only received a single license file with all the CPUs though. From your reply, it seems that this is not correct. In the license window in Veeam, it does not seem to indicate anything about Tier A vs Tier B. How can I find out if my license file is correct?

Thanks,
Jason

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22862
Liked: 1538 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Licensing

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 12, 2013 9:39 am

jlester wrote:I only received a single license file with all the CPUs though.
This is correct, assuming you have the same tier licensed. The license key doesn't contain tier indication.

jlester
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2010 1:59 pm
Full Name: Jason Lester
Contact:

Re: Licensing

Post by jlester » Apr 12, 2013 11:49 am

I have 6 Tier B licenses and 14 Tier A. However, the license file I received is for 20 CPUs. I did not receive separate license files for the two tiers.

Jason

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24621
Liked: 3465 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Licensing

Post by Gostev » Apr 12, 2013 4:31 pm

What I meant is that we cannot issue combined license file with a separate socket count for different tires, because the license file format does not have support for this. This also means we do not have a capability in the product to track license usage per socket tier.

So instead, what is issued is the license file for total socket count without any tier indication, and it is on you to ensure the license compliance around CPU socket tiers.

jlester
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2010 1:59 pm
Full Name: Jason Lester
Contact:

Re: Licensing

Post by jlester » Apr 12, 2013 5:03 pm

Ah, that makes sense. I haven't replaced the servers yet, so I wanted to make sure everything was correct before I do.

Thanks,
Jason

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], mmckinnon, rustiferch and 26 guests