Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
leduke
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Full Name: alex
Contact:

Local veeam remote target

Post by leduke » Nov 09, 2012 3:40 pm

Hello.

I have two Networks on WAN connection IPsec Lan To Lan:

Site A:
vSphere Infrastructure (cluster with two ESX: ESX-A-1 and ESX-A-2) with Veeam Backup Server 6.5 (named VM-Veeam-A).
the veeam server is also Proxy server for LAN Backups.

Site B
ESX-B, with virtual Machines VM-B-1, VM-B-2, VM-B-3 etc...
A Qnap iSCSi Serveur named Qnap-B.

I want to use replication of virtual machines on Site B, but not across WAN access, the replication of Virtual machines VM-B-1, VM-B-2, VM-B-3 will be stored on Site B on Qnap-B, but all jobs will be create on the Veeam server VM-Veeam-A.

How to configure the differents proxy fields to do this, without send datas Over WAN ?

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Source Proxy: Is it the VM-Veeam-A
Target Proxy: Is it one of the VM on Site B as VM-B-1 ?

Thank you.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by dellock6 » Nov 09, 2012 6:38 pm

If you do not want replica jobs to cross the WAN, you should NOT use Veeam-A while configuring the replica job. Install both proxy and repository roles on one of the B-side VMs, and create a small repository on that VM too. In the replica job you will use that proxy as both source and target, and the repository on site-B as metadata repository.
In this way, Veeam server at site-A will act only as a management console for that job.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

leduke
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Full Name: alex
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by leduke » Nov 09, 2012 8:45 pm

Ok I understand !

On site B: Repository and Proxy used avec Source and target Proxy.

Is the proxy role is autodeploy ? How many resources does the role use ?

Thank you !

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by dellock6 » Nov 09, 2012 9:59 pm

No, the role is not autodeploy: you add the windows server to backup infrastructure in Veeam, and deploy the roles on it.
For the proxy role, 2 vCPU for every cuncurrent job you run.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

leduke
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Full Name: alex
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by leduke » Nov 12, 2012 10:07 am

OK.

Thank you very much !

leduke
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Full Name: alex
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by leduke » Nov 16, 2012 8:52 am

I just tried, it ok, works fine.

Is the any problem to bakcup the proxy server It self ?

I want to backup using Veeam my remote proxy server...

Thank you

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by foggy » Nov 16, 2012 8:58 am

Just remember that virtual proxies are not able to use CBT and hotadd mode to backup themselves - they are backed up over network and CBT is disabled on them automatically. These are known limitations covered in the release notes.

leduke
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Full Name: alex
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by leduke » Nov 16, 2012 10:38 am

foggy wrote:Just remember that virtual proxies are not able to use CBT and hotadd mode to backup themselves - they are backed up over network and CBT is disabled on them automatically. These are known limitations covered in the release notes.
What is CBT, must I create a Job only for the Proxy with other parameters ?

Thank you

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by foggy » Nov 16, 2012 10:44 am

CBT stands for Changed Block Tracking, VMware feature that tracks disk blocks that have changed to allow incremental backups.
No need for separate job, failover to network mode will be performed automatically (if not disabled by you intentionally).

leduke
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Full Name: alex
Contact:

Re: Local veeam remote target

Post by leduke » Nov 16, 2012 11:04 am

foggy wrote:CBT stands for Changed Block Tracking, VMware feature that tracks disk blocks that have changed to allow incremental backups.
No need for separate job, failover to network mode will be performed automatically (if not disabled by you intentionally).
Ok Thank you !
I select "automatic" to the backup transport mode, so automatic switch to network backup can be performed.

Thank you so much !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests