manually install guest interaction proxy?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

manually install guest interaction proxy?

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:28 pm

Hi!

Is is possible to manually install guest interaction proxy to the proxy server?
If so, where can I find the installation package?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: manually install guest interaction proxy?

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:36 pm

nvm, found it.

C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Packages
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: manually install guest interaction proxy?

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:22 pm

Hi!

Is it so, that even if I manually install proxy components on the proxy server, I STILL need to open tcp135/139/445 to get it added as managed server on VBR?
This http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/vsph ... html#guest only mentions ports 6190 and 6290, but my firewall keeps bugging about port 135/139/445
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: manually install guest interaction proxy?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:57 pm

those ports are usually used during the installation process, you can open them temporarely and then close them after installation is completed. I've not tested the case for the geust interaction proxy, but on other components this is the case usually.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: manually install guest interaction proxy?

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:16 am

Thanks! I just did that. Do you think that upgrading proxy components could be done without opening those again?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: manually install guest interaction proxy?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:38 am

No, as the update process works in the same way as a new installation, by using RPC and msi techologies from Microsoft.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests