Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
scott.hale
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2011 12:04 pm
Contact:

MAX OS X and VMWare FUSION as a platform ?

Post by scott.hale »

I have several newer, pumped-up Mac Pro's (2 x Quad Core processors + 16 Gb RAM) that came back from a department we shut down.

Was thinking about using them as Veeam backup server platforms to target VM's on our EQL iSCSI SAN.

What do you think about Veeam B&R running on a 2K8 VM under VMWare Fusion (3.1.2) on MAC OS x 10.6 ?

Cheers,

SH

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28654
Liked: 5183 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: MAX OS X and VMWare FUSION as a platform ?

Post by Gostev »

Haha, this is smart. Why not? Put those Macs to good use! Does fusion have any limitations on CPU count? Hope not, pretty good hardware there.

By the way, did you know you can install Windows on Mac with Boot Camp?

Thanks.

scott.hale
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2011 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: MAX OS X and VMWare FUSION as a platform ?

Post by scott.hale »

Yah on Bootcamp - I think there is a problem with Jumbo Frame support for the NIC that would talk to my SAN using BC.

So, you think operate Veeam setup like this as you would if installed on a physical server.....?

Cheers,

SH

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28654
Liked: 5183 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: MAX OS X and VMWare FUSION as a platform ?

Post by Gostev »

Yes, worth trying.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bavo.vdk, Bing [Bot], Tholen and 59 guests