Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
SaavyGolfer
Lurker
Liked: never

Migrating A VMware VM To Different Storage

Post by SaavyGolfer »

Hello all,

I'm new to Veeam and the forums so I hope my questions haven't been answered 20 times already, but I did do some searching and I couldn't find any answers to my particular questions.

First off here is my environment:

1. Two HP DL360 Gen 8 servers as my ESXi servers running vSphere 6.0 - They are not identical, but close, they have different version processors: 1 Server has two E5-2640 processors and the other Server
has two E5-2640 v2 processors.
2. vSphere Essentials 6 - So no vMotion or Storage vMotion - We have vCenter licensing we just haven't deployed VCSA yet to manage hosts, so each host is currently managed individually.
2. NAS as our datastore for most of the VM's, some VM's are running on the local storage of each ESXi server.
3. Veeam Backup Free Edition 9.5.

I guess the next thing to state is that I'm fairly new to administering VMware/vSphere and using Veeam, so I'm learning under fire so to speak. I administer a small vSphere environment consisting of two ESXi servers with about 10 VM's on each server, (not using vCenter yet), we use some local storage and network attached storage for our VM datastores, and we are using Veeam Backup Free Edition 9.5 to perform backups and to migrate VM's if necessary or to change storage locations.

I might have to replace our current NAS device that hosts the majority of our VM's with a new device, I'm pretty sure it's going bad. If that happens, I would need to migrate all of my VM's that are located on that NAS device to other storage devices we have, then back to to the replacement NAS device.