Migration from Acronis 11.5

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Migration from Acronis 11.5

Veeam Logoby dimettin » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:46 pm

Hi,

One of our customers using Acronis 11.5 for backup Windows and Linux VMs. on VMware :cry:
We planning migration to Veeam.
1. Is it necessary to uninstall Acronis agents from hosts and VMs?
2. Can we I install Veeam on same 2012 R2 server without removing Acronis from the same server?

Thanks.
dimettin
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:38 pm
Full Name: Dima

Re: Migration from Acronis 11.5

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:09 pm

Hi,

Is it necessary to uninstall Acronis agents from hosts and VMs?
No, it's not necessary, however to ensure that they won't overlap I'd recommend to disable Acronis agent services.

Can we I install Veeam on same 2012 R2 server without removing Acronis from the same server?
Yes, it should work fine. Just make sure that neither backup solution will start its activity while the other is already running (prevent Acronis services from autostart).

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Migration from Acronis 11.5

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:26 am

Can we I install Veeam on same 2012 R2 server without removing Acronis from the same server?

I'm wondering whether you're archiving data to tapes using Acronis and also plan to do so with VB&R. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests