Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Migration question

Post by leiw » May 06, 2010 2:10 am

Hello

I want migrate Veeam from Windows XP to Windows Server 2003, Veeam replication job already run in Windows XP.
What I have to be careful?

Thanks !

leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by leiw » May 06, 2010 7:16 am

Hello

I think I have to migrate VC, so I want to delete original VC in Veeam, but it displayed warning that will be delete objects. (very afraid to delete wrong original VMs objects)

Thanks !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23645
Liked: 1714 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 06, 2010 8:24 am

Hello,

You don't need to delete anything from a backup console. Please have a look at the topic below for detailed description of migration process:

http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... 35&p=14808

Hope it helps!

leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by leiw » May 06, 2010 12:11 pm

Hello

I read your link, if I create new VC, can I delete the old VC ? I don't understand what's delete objects, will it delete the VM in ESX hosts?

Thanks !

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25867
Liked: 3986 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by Gostev » May 06, 2010 1:03 pm

You don't need to delete anything, you just move the configuration database to the new Veeam Backup server, then uninstall Veeam Backup from original server.

leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by leiw » May 06, 2010 1:39 pm

Sorry, I maybe explain not clear.

I want to add new VC in same Veeam, how can I change the database?

Thanks !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23645
Liked: 1714 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 06, 2010 1:56 pm

If you want to remove an existing vCenter node from a backup console, that will remove all the job configurations, backups and replicas from Veeam configuration DB. But the actual backup files as well as source VMs won't be affected.

If you want to add new vCenter, feel free to do that.

leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by leiw » May 06, 2010 2:01 pm

Do you mean cannot migrate existing backup and replica jobs to another VC in same Veeam console?

Thanks !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23645
Liked: 1714 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 06, 2010 2:39 pm

I'm sorry but I'm not quite sure what you're trying to say. You may re-configure your jobs by adding VMs from the hosts that are managed by another vCenter. For this you should add vCenter, and add new VMs to a the job.

leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by leiw » May 06, 2010 11:41 pm

Hello

I want to make sure it doesn't delete source VMs and destination VMs, so I post the delete windows here:

Image

Thanks !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23645
Liked: 1714 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 07, 2010 8:01 am

It won't delete your source and destination VMs from the datastore. It will only remove all the references in the backup console.

leiw
Expert
Posts: 121
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: Migration question

Post by leiw » May 07, 2010 4:29 pm

Deleted it, Thanks !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Gostev and 39 guests