[Feature Request] More restore options

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: [Feature Request] More restore options

Veeam Logoby s_t » Wed May 18, 2016 12:26 pm

Hi,

you could start a single file restore on your Veeam server, until the point where the restore browser is open - this gives you the backup mounted in your Veeam server under c:\VeeamFLR\

Just leave the restore browser open, you can access the mounted restore point directory directly with robocopy and other tools - which gives you the full power of those tools for special restore operations :-)


--Sebastian
s_t
Service Provider
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:14 pm
Full Name: Sebastian

Re: [Feature Request] More restore options

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 18, 2016 1:00 pm

Sebastian is spot on, this is a workaround that is typically suggested in such cases. Thanks for the feedback though.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14718
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Feature request

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:55 am

When restoring (especially when hit by ransomware), choose to only overwrite newer filer/older files etc.
Either we keep or we overwrite. Its of no use in that usage scenario
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: [Feature Request] More restore options

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:55 am

Kenneth, thanks for the request. Please see above for the workaround available.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14718
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: [Feature Request] More restore options

Veeam Logoby DaveyOh » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:18 pm

I would also like to see a Skip Newer Files or Restore Only Missing Files feature added. The work around is a work around, but we have 2 shares that are approximately 2.2TB each. When random folders/files are encrypted it would be nice to have this as a right-click restore option instead of needing to use robocopy/xcopy from a mount. Especially if the restore is performed by someone not well versed in robocopy/xcopy.
Maybe this could be included in v9.5 or v9.5 update 1?
DaveyOh
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:28 am
Full Name: Davey

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], quazer and 51 guests