Move all backup files to new repository error....

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby r71mopar » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:12 pm

I lost a repository with my backups on it so I created a new repository and now trying to edit my backup jobs to point to the new one I get the following error... "Move all backup files to the new repository first". Well I cannot do that because those files are gone, so how do I change repositories on existing jobs without moving the files?
r71mopar
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:21 pm
Full Name: Scott Allen

Re: Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 19, 2016 7:35 pm

Do you have old repository as well as old backup file records present in the backup console UI?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby r71mopar » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:01 pm

Already figured it out while this thread was being approved! :roll: :roll:
r71mopar
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:21 pm
Full Name: Scott Allen

Re: Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:09 am

Ok, thanks for confirming the solution for future readers!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby Kuhnster » Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:14 pm

What is the solution to this? I have a similar problem, except the files are there but Veeam doesn't see them anymore. I want to repoint my backup jobs to a new disk, but can't without moving the files.

The only way I know is to clone the job and run it to the new repository, but I have 52 jobs and many of them are chained. There has to be an easier way! Is there?
Kuhnster
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:34 pm
Full Name: Jeff Kuhn

Re: Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby Kuhnster » Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:48 pm

BTW I tried the reg hack, but it doesn't work in v9.5.

I submitted Case #02031668.
Kuhnster
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:34 pm
Full Name: Jeff Kuhn

Re: Move all backup files to new repository error....

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:04 pm

Kuhnster wrote:except the files are there but Veeam doesn't see them anymore.

Did you try to rescan the repository?
Kuhnster wrote: I want to repoint my backup jobs to a new disk, but can't without moving the files.

Did you check backups node in the backup console for the orphaned records?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 59 guests