Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Veeam Logoby cristiano.cumer » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:44 am

Hello,

I would like to move older archived GFS backups form a windows server to a Datadomain. Those backups are compressed, and it would be much better if I cloud "decompress" those before moving them.
Backup copy job processes only new backups so, is there a way to change the format of the backups before moving them?

Cristiano
cristiano.cumer
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:01 pm

Hi Cristiano,

GFS backup points are self-contained, so you can just move these VBK files manually or using file copy jobs. Changing the format/compression of the already created file is not possible.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20106
Liked: 1160 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:46 pm

You could copy a VBK into a separate repository and perform backup copy from it (limiting the source scope) with compression disabled. But this should be performed for every backup, so might be pretty tedious.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15394
Liked: 1142 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Veeam Logoby cristiano.cumer » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:44 pm

Hi Foggy,

but AFAIK the copy job just copies new backups, not the older ones, right?
cristiano.cumer
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:18 pm

Right, backup copy copies the latest VM state available in the source repository. I meant performing this procedure for each of the GFS points separately.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15394
Liked: 1142 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Veeam Logoby cristiano.cumer » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:45 pm

Ok, now I get it. A bit tedious yes.
cristiano.cumer
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest