Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
cristiano.cumer
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer » Nov 09, 2017 9:44 am

Hello,

I would like to move older archived GFS backups form a windows server to a Datadomain. Those backups are compressed, and it would be much better if I cloud "decompress" those before moving them.
Backup copy job processes only new backups so, is there a way to change the format of the backups before moving them?

Cristiano

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21544
Liked: 1285 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 11, 2017 8:01 pm

Hi Cristiano,

GFS backup points are self-contained, so you can just move these VBK files manually or using file copy jobs. Changing the format/compression of the already created file is not possible.

Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16836
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Post by foggy » Nov 12, 2017 1:46 pm

You could copy a VBK into a separate repository and perform backup copy from it (limiting the source scope) with compression disabled. But this should be performed for every backup, so might be pretty tedious.

cristiano.cumer
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer » Nov 15, 2017 3:44 pm

Hi Foggy,

but AFAIK the copy job just copies new backups, not the older ones, right?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16836
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Post by foggy » Nov 15, 2017 4:18 pm

Right, backup copy copies the latest VM state available in the source repository. I meant performing this procedure for each of the GFS points separately.

cristiano.cumer
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Re: Move compressed GFS to Dedupe Appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer » Nov 15, 2017 4:45 pm

Ok, now I get it. A bit tedious yes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 50 guests