Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
saxie
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 12, 2010 9:52 am
Full Name: Werner Butterworth
Contact:

Move Management Components

Post by saxie »

I've just upgraded my B&R server to v6. Now I would like to create a second server with just the Veeam B&R Management and 'convert' the existing server to just a Proxy and Repository. Is that at all possible? If not, how would I go about this?

thanks!

saxie
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 12, 2010 9:52 am
Full Name: Werner Butterworth
Contact:

Re: Move Management Components

Post by saxie »

In an attempt to answer my own question please tell me if this will work:

Upgrade exisitng v5 to v6
Run all backup jobs (to get v6 metadata .vbm file created)
Remove all B&R from this server
Install new B&R v6 server
config new proxy and repository - pointing to previous B&R server
rescan repository
recreate backup jobs on new server and map to existing backups which are still on the old server (which is now the proxy and repositroy server)

Could I also maybe backup the sql database and move it to the new server and then just reconfig or is it best to start from a new sql database?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move Management Components

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Werner, the best way would be to move your existing Veeam configuration database to a new SQL Server and reuse it with a new installation. Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Move Management Components

Post by Gostev »

saxie wrote:recreate backup jobs on new server and map to existing backups which are still on the old server
Mapping into backup files created by different Veeam Backup server is not supported.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 23 guests