Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:12 am

You would need to re-create the jobs manually since only one configuration can be restored to a given backup server (there's no "merge" for configurations).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14482
Liked: 1057 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Pointing to another Veeam DB

Veeam Logoby flavor4real » Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:34 pm

Can I remove a Veeam Database and point to another exciting Veeam Database and do restores based on the other Database? What steps do I have to follow to do that switch? I know there is a registry setting but is that all?

Thanks
flavor4real
Expert
 
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:39 pm

The simplest way would be to reinstall Veeam B&R pointing the setup to another database. However you can also go the way of registry modification.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14482
Liked: 1057 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : Move Veeam 7 DB

Veeam Logoby infused » Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:33 am

Hi Guys.

We have Veeam v7 on a SQL express DB which is at 8GB currently.

How can we trim that DB, or move it to another server? We have a 2008 R2 server on a seperate server we can use if we cannot shrink the DB.

Cheers.
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.
infused
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:51 am

Hi, Hayden,

You can play with the session history retention settings in order to decrease amount of historical data stored in SQL database. Please, see posts provided above for more information regarding "database moving" procedure.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 12880
Liked: 936 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:17 pm

infused wrote:We have Veeam v7 on a SQL express DB which is at 8GB currently.

On a side note, can you please tell me how many VMs do you backup? How many hosts do you have in your VI?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19395
Liked: 1089 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby infused » Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:06 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:
infused wrote:We have Veeam v7 on a SQL express DB which is at 8GB currently.

On a side note, can you please tell me how many VMs do you backup? How many hosts do you have in your VI?


3 hosts, only around 17 or so vms.
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.
infused
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:28 am

Typically, SQL Express should be sufficient for such small deployment.

You might want to analyze what things in particular fill the database, using SQL native tools. You can do it either yourself or with the help of our support team. If the database is filled with the historical sessions, then, shorter retention should definitely help.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 12880
Liked: 936 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Moved database problems

Veeam Logoby tom11011 » Mon May 26, 2014 2:40 am

Case 00573696

Hi Group,

I have uninstalled the SQL Express 2005 database that comes with Veeam. Installed SQL 2008 R2 Standard SP2 and attached the VeeamBackup database with out issue. I modified the 3 registry keys. I removed the instance name from the one registry key as it is now the default instance. I believe I have assigned dbo permissions to the domain admin account correctly.

I cannot get the Veeam Backup Service to start. It is trying to start with the same domain admin account.

Not sure what else I should be looking at?
tom11011
Expert
 
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom

Re: Moved database problems

Veeam Logoby tom11011 » Mon May 26, 2014 3:51 am

disregard, in the end it was easier to reinstall.
tom11011
Expert
 
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby infused » Wed Jun 10, 2015 1:43 am

So bumping this, I see I replied in here some time ago. We are about to upgrade. The box has local sql 2008 r2 installed. I'd like to move this to 2014 sql if possible... is there a procedure for this?
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.
infused
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:32 pm

The easiest way is to backup Veeam B&R configuration, run installation pointing it to the new server, and restore configuration there.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14482
Liked: 1057 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Move Veeam B&R database

Veeam Logoby andreas2012 » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:42 pm

Hi,

I would like to move out Veeam B&R v8 database from one sql server to another, I have seen some reg keys, but not sure if this is the correct way.
Please adivce.

Regards
Andreas
andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: ole

Re: Move Veeam B&R database

Veeam Logoby alanbolte » Wed Jan 27, 2016 7:29 pm 1 person likes this post

You may be looking for the DBconfig utility.
alanbolte
Expert
 
Posts: 635
Liked: 170 times
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte

Re: Move Veeam B&R database

Veeam Logoby andreas2012 » Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:30 am

Thanks that worked.
andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: ole

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BCreamer, Bing [Bot], david.m, nmdange, rpost, Yahoo [Bot] and 59 guests