Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy » Dec 05, 2013 10:12 am

You would need to re-create the jobs manually since only one configuration can be restored to a given backup server (there's no "merge" for configurations).

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

[MERGED] Pointing to another Veeam DB

Post by flavor4real » Feb 20, 2014 3:34 pm

Can I remove a Veeam Database and point to another exciting Veeam Database and do restores based on the other Database? What steps do I have to follow to do that switch? I know there is a registry setting but is that all?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy » Feb 20, 2014 3:39 pm

The simplest way would be to reinstall Veeam B&R pointing the setup to another database. However you can also go the way of registry modification.

infused
Enthusiast
Posts: 98
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk
Contact:

[MERGED] : Move Veeam 7 DB

Post by infused » Apr 06, 2014 12:33 am

Hi Guys.

We have Veeam v7 on a SQL express DB which is at 8GB currently.

How can we trim that DB, or move it to another server? We have a 2008 R2 server on a seperate server we can use if we cannot shrink the DB.

Cheers.
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 06, 2014 10:51 am

Hi, Hayden,

You can play with the session history retention settings in order to decrease amount of historical data stored in SQL database. Please, see posts provided above for more information regarding "database moving" procedure.

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21395
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 06, 2014 4:17 pm

infused wrote:We have Veeam v7 on a SQL express DB which is at 8GB currently.
On a side note, can you please tell me how many VMs do you backup? How many hosts do you have in your VI?

infused
Enthusiast
Posts: 98
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by infused » Apr 13, 2014 10:06 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote: On a side note, can you please tell me how many VMs do you backup? How many hosts do you have in your VI?
3 hosts, only around 17 or so vms.
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 14, 2014 10:28 am

Typically, SQL Express should be sufficient for such small deployment.

You might want to analyze what things in particular fill the database, using SQL native tools. You can do it either yourself or with the help of our support team. If the database is filled with the historical sessions, then, shorter retention should definitely help.

Thanks.

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 128
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

[MERGED] Moved database problems

Post by tom11011 » May 26, 2014 2:40 am

Case 00573696

Hi Group,

I have uninstalled the SQL Express 2005 database that comes with Veeam. Installed SQL 2008 R2 Standard SP2 and attached the VeeamBackup database with out issue. I modified the 3 registry keys. I removed the instance name from the one registry key as it is now the default instance. I believe I have assigned dbo permissions to the domain admin account correctly.

I cannot get the Veeam Backup Service to start. It is trying to start with the same domain admin account.

Not sure what else I should be looking at?

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 128
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Moved database problems

Post by tom11011 » May 26, 2014 3:51 am

disregard, in the end it was easier to reinstall.

infused
Enthusiast
Posts: 98
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by infused » Jun 10, 2015 1:43 am

So bumping this, I see I replied in here some time ago. We are about to upgrade. The box has local sql 2008 r2 installed. I'd like to move this to 2014 sql if possible... is there a procedure for this?
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy » Jun 18, 2015 1:32 pm

The easiest way is to backup Veeam B&R configuration, run installation pointing it to the new server, and restore configuration there.

andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: Andreas
Contact:

[MERGED] Move Veeam B&R database

Post by andreas2012 » Jan 27, 2016 6:42 pm

Hi,

I would like to move out Veeam B&R v8 database from one sql server to another, I have seen some reg keys, but not sure if this is the correct way.
Please adivce.

Regards
Andreas

alanbolte
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam B&R database

Post by alanbolte » Jan 27, 2016 7:29 pm 1 person likes this post

You may be looking for the DBconfig utility.

andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: Andreas
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam B&R database

Post by andreas2012 » Jan 29, 2016 11:30 am

Thanks that worked.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests