Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
hansis100
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 8:06 am
Contact:

Move vm to another storage

Post by hansis100 »

Hello!

I want to backup a big virtual machine to a Tape and want to restore this machine to another storage. The machine is about 1.7 TB. This is the reason why I want to copy the vm from one storage to another storage with a tape.

I have regististered the vm to my VC on the other site.

I have on the first site my original VM named VMTEST1.
On the second site I have my VM named replica_VMTEST1.

Now I want to replicate VMTEST1 to replica_VMTEST1 with veeam v5.
How can I give the target_location of my restored VM to the Replica_job?

thx.
Hansi

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move vm to another storage

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Hansi,

If you want to replicate a VM, please choose destination host and start replication job, there is no need to create anything on the DR site. In order to make this process less stressful for your connection link I would suggest doing initial seeding for this VM, see our User Guide for more details (page 71).

On top of that, assuming that this VM is pretty large (1.7 TB) and not all devices might be able to keep it, have you considered doing just a backup job with compression and deduplication enabled? Once you have a compressed and deduplicated backup image file, you can offload it to tape and transfer it to another site to perform a restore procedure.

Thank you.

hansis100
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Move vm to another storage

Post by hansis100 »

Many thanks!

But I want to do following:
I have a vm on the target host and want to use this machine for replication-target. This is not possible, isn't it?

hansi

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move vm to another storage

Post by Vitaliy S. »

No, this is not possible, however with our upcoming version 6, you should be able to map replicas into existing VMs in the DR site.

hansis100
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Move vm to another storage

Post by hansis100 »

thanks.

Then I hope V6 will come soon.

hansis

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 28 guests