Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
staun
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2017 8:48 am
Full Name: Jørgen Staun
Contact:

Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by staun » Feb 10, 2019 2:16 am

We moved our backup to a new server and a new storage. The old backup-store had about 8 TB storage and new storage is about 20 TB. After copying all old data to new storage it suddenly increased to 16 TB.?!?! - My first thought was Windows 2016 Dedup. but no. - Dedup was installed on the old server, but not configured!?

I am a bit confused about this - any ideas to the sudden increase?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2578
Liked: 529 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by nielsengelen » Feb 10, 2019 9:55 am

How did you move the data to the new server? Was this done via VBR (using scale-out backup repository for eg) or did you move it yourself via copy/paste methods?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

staun
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2017 8:48 am
Full Name: Jørgen Staun
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by staun » Feb 14, 2019 8:38 am

It was just moved with copy/ paste. (unfortunately we only have a standard license and cannot use all full features in Scale-Out repositories... - wish I could though)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by foggy » Feb 14, 2019 3:09 pm

Sounds strange unless either ReFS or deduplication were used. I'd recommend asking support to take a look.

staun
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2017 8:48 am
Full Name: Jørgen Staun
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by staun » Feb 18, 2019 1:43 pm

Both storage-disks are formatted with ReFS but deduplication not configured..

When I take a look at the old server File explorer reports 14.3 TB disk usage, but as you can see attached screenshot the disk capacity is only 7.63 (and no deduplication rate.) - I am really confused where the compressesion is done.

https://imgur.com/a/5PphB2z

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by foggy » Feb 18, 2019 2:29 pm

Can you check if FastClone was used during the jobs? There should be a [fast clone] tag logged in the job session if this was the case.

staun
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2017 8:48 am
Full Name: Jørgen Staun
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by staun » Feb 25, 2019 9:59 am

oh well, things seems to align up now.

My storage is 16.4 TB and current usage is 16.4 TB, but I have 7.54 TB free space, no dedup or anything else enabled, it must be Veeam that use some kind of compression. - three days ago I had 6.2 TB free space, but same usage, so over time this will reduce to match the old server.

I suspect that the normal filecopy of the old backup files caused them to "explode" to actual size and as retention time runs out, these files are deleted and new backup files may not take up the same amount of space due to compression?!?!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moved Veeam B&R and storage to new server - storage capacity

Post by foggy » Feb 25, 2019 4:25 pm

Again, this could be the case provided FastClone is involved.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 29 guests