Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:22 pm

carlingtech wrote:I have a case open with support (00673245), but have not gotten any solutions on it yet.

Source bottleneck indicates that your issue has nothing to deal with Data Domain.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby carlingtech » Sat Nov 15, 2014 2:05 am

Yeah, the tech support engineer wasn't listening (or didn't care to listen)- that source bottleneck only happens with the DDBoost jobs. When running the jobs with a CIFS share to the Datadomain device, the bottleneck is the target and the jobs run as expected.

I'll be escalating the ticket on Monday. I'm not pleased with the response to date.
carlingtech
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby vStorage » Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:47 am 2 people like this post

Make sure you are using the pre release 5.5 OS firmware for the Data Domains.

I had exactly the same issue with Veeam 8 and incremental backups sitting there for hours with proxy servers having hot-add VM snapshots open and 0% progress

The issue appears to be 5.4.x firmware on the Data Domains. 5.5.0.7 solved it completely for me

Open a case with EMC and get access to the pre release DD OS package
Barrie
https://twitter.com/vStorage
vStorage
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby carlingtech » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:24 am

Thanks! I was wondering if it had something to do with the release. Currently running 5.4.4.2-453843. I will contact EMC.
carlingtech
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:57 am

We are running 5.4.0.8-404909 and 5.5.0.2-421637 on our two QC boxes.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby vStorage » Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:15 pm

Just for clarification, the DD OS was 5.4.2.1 (which is the current shipping GA firmware I believe)

EMC provided 5.5.0.7 (which is the only version they are giving to customers at this stage it seems)
Barrie
https://twitter.com/vStorage
vStorage
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby Bazillus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:43 am

The latest GA I could download from EMC is: 5.4.4.2
All 5.5 are DA (like a Beta Version) at the Moment.
Downgrade to 5.4.0.8 or upgrade to a DA is in our Environment not an Option.
So we have to wait for a offical GA, correct?
Bazillus
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:55 am
Full Name: René Schärer

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby ale » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:40 pm

I have the same issue with v8 and EMC DDBoost. Incremental Backups are very slow on DD2500 with DDOS 5.5.0.4. Update to 5.5.0.7 didn't resolve the issue. Please help!
Veeam Case # 00680905
ale
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:24 am
Full Name: Alexander Ermine

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:08 pm

Alexander, please continue to work with our support, as we are unable to troubleshoot issue through the forum posts. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] Veeam v8 + DDBoost on a DD2500 - slow throughput

Veeam Logoby CHRISATTWOOD » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:21 am

Hi everyone

Apologies if this has been covered already, I have trawled through the last 4 or 5 pages and I cant see a topic on it.

I have recently upgraded to Veeam V8 on the premise of using DDboost on our DD2500. I have set everything up on the DD and I have ran several jobs to the new storage unit I created.

The jobs complete, but the throughput im getting is around 4MBS.. My backups to my NFS targets are getting speeds of 40MBS minimum up to 150MBS... the channel it traverse has 10GB throughput

I have upgraded my DD2500 to 5.4.2.1 but the throughput is the same, currently logged a call with emc to get 5.5 on DA, just waiting for it at the moment..

But has anyone else experienced this or could share any thoughts?

Thanks

Chris
CHRISATTWOOD
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Chris Attwood

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby meilicke » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:04 pm

Following up, I worked with both Veeam and EMC tech support, and we were not successful getting the old backups from the CIFS only mtree to the Boost mtree. It came down to permissions that were copied over with the fastcopy. We dropped down to bash within the DD, and tried dd_xcacls and good old chmod/chown, to no avail. So now I am removing backup files from Veeam (not disk), re-importing, and then modifying the job to point to the new Boost repository. At least all of the traffic for the new full backup is staying within the proxy servers. From the proxy that is servicing the DD, traffic is minimal, ~300MB/s between proxies and 4-5MB/s between the Boost proxy and the DD.

Now I need to find out which is more efficient, using the Veeam WAN Accelerator for backup copies, or creating a boost repository on the remote DD, but assigning a local boost proxy to it. In theory the boost proxy should do a similar job as the Veeam WAN Accel, maybe better?
meilicke
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:51 pm
Full Name: Scott Meilicke

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:00 am

Thanks for the update re: moving backups.

Be aware that DDBoost is not supported over WAN by EMC.
But, let's not derail this topic with an unrelated discussion.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby tomb80 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:01 pm

I have brand new HP BL460c blades with more than enough resources to handle this. I have tried it on older Hp servers as well. Any backup that I do with DDBoost is painfully slow. Right now I am running test jobs to the following:

DDBoost
DDBoost over FC
CIFS
NFS through Linux

Also different transports

SAN
Hot Add
Network

DDBoost is getting killed and it is working. It is just slow. We just upgraded our DD to 5.5.0.8 hoping that would help some issues. The job I have running right now has been running for an hour and a half and it usually finishes in 45 minutes or less without DDBoost. I am running on 8GB fiber from a Pure storage array through Dell R720s and HP blades running ESXi 5.5. Veeam 7 kills Veeam 8 on performance so far in CIFS/NFS with no comparison for DDBoost.
tomb80
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:27 pm
Full Name: tom burge

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby carlingtech » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:18 pm

Working with support currently on same issue with DataDomain backups slow or never completing. They are tracking a number of issues backing up to Data Domain devices and are now working with EMC to track down the issue.

What model DataDomain do you have? I have the same problem with a DD620 running the same codeset.
carlingtech
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:38 pm

Did you try the private fix from Veeam ? (39801) ?
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 30 guests