Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

[MERGED] Veeam 8 and DataDomain : Performance (so far NOT go

Veeam Logoby myrdin » Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:57 am

Hi,

there is a ticket, but so far we didnt figure out the issue (00698997)

I have a bunch of dd2200 with boost and vsphere 5.1 running with V8.

I wasnt particoularly impressed with backup performances, especially for syntethics (that actually takes more than active fulls...).

Having the ESX host connected on a 4Gb aggregated link directly to a autotiering storage with mixed SAS/SSD all connected to an aggregated 4Gb/s link to DD, and getting if i am lucky 80MB/s well...not very promising. Processing speed for full are like 20MB/s with no data pulled from the prod NAS, so purely in the DD.

I am doing NDB but hotadd give me the same results.

In restore is even worst, it takes MORE THAN 30 MINUTEs (and counting, it never finished so i actually dont know) for a 300GB backup file. The funny thing is that looking at the DD while Veeam is trying to mount the image, it looks like the DD is doing nothing or very very little, so it looks like Veeam is not pulling the info from DD the right way? The restore tests made with no other jobs running.

Load on proxies (3x proxis total 10CPU available) very low.

I had a guy from EMC looking into the autosupport logs for the DD, and he said Veem is pushing/pulling only one stream to the DD and the DD is heavily underutilized.

Ideas?
myrdin
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:17 am
Full Name: NIck

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby KevinK » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:22 am

Gostev wrote:Be aware that DDBoost is not supported over WAN by EMC.
But, let's not derail this topic with an unrelated discussion.

From the 5.5.0.4 release notes

WAN support—backup to Data Domain over WAN, enabling Avamar DT/LT (DeskTop/
LapTop) and ROBO (Remote Office Back Office) use cases to Data Domain and
DDBoost
KevinK
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:18 am
Full Name: Kevin Kissack

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby KevinK » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:23 am

Here is a DD fastcopy command that allows you to update the destination rather than overwrite.

filesys fastcopy update source [source] destination [destination]
KevinK
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:18 am
Full Name: Kevin Kissack

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby chrisdearden » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:07 pm

Thanks for the update Kevin - have you had a chance to test it ?
chrisdearden
Expert
 
Posts: 1529
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby KevinK » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:53 pm

I've just received a DDBoost key for testing - will let you know.
KevinK
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:18 am
Full Name: Kevin Kissack

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:29 pm

KevinK wrote:
Gostev wrote:Be aware that DDBoost is not supported over WAN by EMC.
But, let's not derail this topic with an unrelated discussion.

From the 5.5.0.4 release notes
WAN support—backup to Data Domain over WAN, enabling Avamar DT/LT (DeskTop/
LapTop) and ROBO (Remote Office Back Office) use cases to Data Domain and
DDBoost

You are quoting my statement about DDBoost, and then DD OS release notes. But DDBoost and DD OS are two absolutely different things :D

I can confirm that DDBoost 2.6.x used in B&R v8 is not supported over WAN by EMC regardless of DD OS version. I had a discussion about this specifically directly with EMC R&D a few months ago. This is a hard limitation.

On top of DD OS 5.5.0.4, WAN support also requires newer DDBoost 3.x (which was not ready in time for our v8 release).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby KevinK » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:56 pm 1 person likes this post

My initial testing with DDBoost - A single SQL VM on EMC 15k SAS.

The backup server and Data Domain are both on 10Gbps.

ImageImage

Traffic to the DD without boost averaged around 130MB/s - Traffic with boost average around 10MB/s - Incredible

Is it correct that it is highlighting network as the bottleneck in both instances? Perhaps as this component is working the hardest and not necessarily bottlenecking performance?

As we already have a high through-put network I'm not seeing big benefits yet, however once I run our regular backup jobs which are based on datastores I believe the CPU load will increase. I hope this doesn't affect the amount of jobs/vDisks the server can backup at once.

Two potential perks are being able to still backup quickly even if the DD is running a clean job and less bloating on the data DD after each backup.

All credit to Veeam on this integration - if it was available two years ago we could have saved on the networking hardware :)
KevinK
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:18 am
Full Name: Kevin Kissack

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby haslund » Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:41 pm

b.vanhaastrecht wrote:
b.vanhaastrecht wrote:Are the slow processing problems solved after installing 39801 hotfix?

To anwser my own question: We've applied the hotfix, but it did solve the problem in our situation. Ticket 00692321.

Image

Edit: new image.


Is this image before or after applying the hotfix?
I am seeing exactly the same behavior.
Rasmus Haslund
Principal Technologist, Global Education Services @ Veeam Software
Veeam Certified Architect #1 | Veeam Certified Trainer #4 [v7,v8,v9] | Veeam Certified Trainer Mentor #1
Twitter: @haslund
Blog: www.perfectcloud.org
haslund
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 268
Liked: 50 times
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:35 am
Location: Denmark
Full Name: Rasmus Haslund

[MERGED] Move Longterm Backup (WinRepo) to DataDomain

Veeam Logoby zuerom » Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:29 am

Hello,

We added a new DataDomain to our environment (Veeam8 u1).
What is the best / fastest / easiest way to move the Backups from BackupCopyjobs (Windows Repository) to the new DataDomain with DDBoost (attached as an appliance)?

regards
Roman
zuerom
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:14 am
Full Name: Roman Zürcher

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby friko » Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:10 pm

It's been a few releases since this thread was opened. Do you guys know if there's now a way to do this?
friko
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:01 pm
Full Name: Jonathan P

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 29, 2016 4:05 pm

Jonathan, could you please elaborate on what specifically are you trying to do?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14718
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby friko » Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:52 pm

Hi,

I want to move my existing backups (on a CIFS) to a DD Boost Storage Unit on a new Data Domain.
friko
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:01 pm
Full Name: Jonathan P

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:54 pm

friko wrote:a new Data Domain.

Is this a separate storage device from the one you're currently have backups on?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14718
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby rnt-guy » Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:40 pm

I too am trying to move my data from a usb hard drive (veeam 9 backed up to a usb device, now connected to a server \\server1\usb\ that can see the DD. I've already been backing up to the DD boost LSU for our other jobs but we want to import a large backup (1.5TB) from the usb drive (via a \\ share).

This thread went a couple different directions. Any advice for a Windows guy? ;)
rnt-guy
Service Provider
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:58 pm
Full Name: RNT-Guy

Re: Moving Backups To DataDomain Boost

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:39 pm

The easiest way would be to export the DDBoost repository via CIFS and copy data between shares then. Another approach is using the Files tab in Veeam B&R.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14718
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DonZoomik, foggy, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], quazer and 51 guests