Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1292
Liked: 139 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Scale out repo - Active full?

Post by DGrinev » Aug 11, 2017 10:49 am

Hi Paul and welcome to the community!

You can add the repository to the new scale-out repository and change target for the job to that SOBR. The job should continue with an incremental run.
Also, review this thread for additional information. Thanks!

Highside1100
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 21, 2017 2:43 pm
Full Name: Paul Walsh
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by Highside1100 » Aug 11, 2017 2:27 pm

Hey,

Thats great thank you very much :)

Regards,

Paul

xefil
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2012 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by xefil » Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

Hello,

I'm following this guide as well as KB2236 to move data from an old repo to a new SOBR.
What I'm not understanding well is:

"If redistribution of files is not desired or necessary, you can simply copy the folder containing VBM and backup files to an existing extent. Rename both path and VBM to ensure import, and re-scan."

I move a lot of data to the temp directory in the same partition of a repo that already is into scale out:

d:\Backups (production repo and part of SOBR)
d:\Backups-temp (temporaru repo for migration)

Now, when I put the repo into maintenance and then select to evacuate it, it copies AGAIN a LOT of data.
Isn't there a way to prevent this step and manually add it to SOBR?

Thanks,

Simon

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15393
Liked: 1163 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by v.Eremin » Dec 18, 2017 12:27 pm

The note suggests that if you don't want backup files to be distributed across multiple extents, you can simply copy backup folder to one particular extent manually and then make SOBR aware of those files (rename, rescan, etc.). In this case no temporary extent is needed, so, some steps taken by you look excessive. Thanks.

xefil
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2012 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by xefil » Dec 18, 2017 1:49 pm

Ok, why (how) rename?
Let me explain what I've done:
  • temp repo: created a temporary repo in the same partition of the produtction repo, part of SOBR
  • old repo: moved backup files to temporary repo (first big copy)
  • temp repo: rescan. A new backup was found.
  • job: edited the job, pointing the backups to the temporary repo and mapped the backups
  • SOBR: added (extend) the temp repo.
  • temp rempo: placed in maintenance and then evacuate it (second big copy from temp repo to production repo, part of SOBR).
With above steps, now the backup was succcessfully moved to SOBR.

Now, If for the last step would be possible to move manually the data to the production repo, part of SOBR, that would avoid a second copy process. It's a lot of data. A move would be sufficient.
How to do that?

Thanks!

Simon

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15393
Liked: 1163 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by v.Eremin » Dec 18, 2017 2:21 pm

A move would be sufficient.
Backup evacuation = move. Backup files will be deleted from obsolete extent, once they land on new extent.

xefil
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2012 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by xefil » Dec 18, 2017 3:23 pm

Hello,

Not exactly (I suppose).
Evacuation moves the data with a copy and delete (I've checked it with resource monitor) and it has take hours.
Having the data on the same partition of the temporary repo and the production repo, the file explorer move is much faster (instant).
Isn't there a way to do it manually?

Simon

toreml
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 13, 2017 11:12 am
Full Name: Tore Mejlænder-Larsen
Contact:

[MERGED] Add existing repository to scale-out

Post by toreml » Dec 20, 2017 12:02 pm

Hi.
I have a repository which is running low on free space.
I've now created a scale-out repository with new disk.

Can I add my existing repository into the scale-out - and the jobs will then be updated with new target?
The old repository is not set Pr-VM - so the scale-out is also not pr-vm since there - for now - not enough space for a new active full backup.

Will there be any issue with restore - since the disk is now a part of a scale-out, or is the backups related to the extent and not the scale-out repository?

Regards
Tore ML

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1292
Liked: 139 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Add existing repository to scale-out

Post by DGrinev » Dec 20, 2017 12:15 pm

Hi Tore,

Yes, you can add existing repository to the SOBR and change the target of the job.
There are no issues expected with the restore.
Please review this thread for additional information. Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17087
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moving Existing Jobs to New Scale-out Repository

Post by foggy » Dec 20, 2017 4:17 pm

xefil wrote:Isn't there a way to do it manually?
I'm not sure why you need a temporary repository at all. Why not just add existing repository as extent to SOBR and evacuate it?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests