Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
tim.vogel@xtium.com
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 14, 2009 9:21 pm
Full Name: Tim

Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by tim.vogel@xtium.com » May 05, 2010 11:20 am

Is there way currently, or with 5.0 coming, to easily move jobs between backup hosts without re-creating the jobs or starting from scratch?


For example: We have 3 physical hosts running Veeam to do backups. Each host currently has 5 jobs. On host 1, the jobs run long and overlap. On host 2, the jobs all get done very quickly. We would like to move a job from host 1 to host 2 to better "balance" the load.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23619
Liked: 1708 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 05, 2010 11:48 am

Hello Tim,

You may try moving Veeam configuration DB to another backup server. In this case all you will be able to split your jobs between two backup servers.

For more information, please have a look at the following topic:
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... 94&start=0

Hope it helps!

tim.vogel@xtium.com
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 14, 2009 9:21 pm
Full Name: Tim

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by tim.vogel@xtium.com » May 05, 2010 11:52 am

My understanding is that this could only be done once. Since two servers are both already running and have different DBs, wouldn't this remove anything configured on the 2nd backup server?

Really, what we would like is a shared database so jobs can be moved between multiple backup hosts.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25834
Liked: 3979 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by Gostev » May 05, 2010 11:56 am

Hello Tim, adding such job management (move jobs between backup hosts) is on our roadmap. We plan to rely on our Enteprise Manager component to achieve this, since all backup hosts already have a connection established to it. Down the road, due to centralized management this functionality will also help to achieve additional useful capabilities like high availability for backup jobs (automatically moving jobs from failed backup host to another).

tim.vogel@xtium.com
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 14, 2009 9:21 pm
Full Name: Tim

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by tim.vogel@xtium.com » May 05, 2010 12:04 pm

Any idea when this might be coming? It is extremely difficult to manage even a reasonable sized install that is growing. Especially if using folders to automatically get new VMs backed up.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25834
Liked: 3979 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by Gostev » May 05, 2010 1:37 pm

We are currently planning this feature for the next major release after v5. This is a high priority feature for us.

jgremillion
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2009 2:49 pm
Full Name: Joe Gremillion
Contact:

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by jgremillion » May 05, 2010 7:20 pm

Gostev,

That would a fantastic feature and really move your product into the enterprise realm. That would be a great help for us as well!

Keep up the good work!

smudger
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 06, 2009 4:35 pm
Full Name: Neil Smith
Contact:

Re: Moving jobs between backup hosts

Post by smudger » May 06, 2010 8:51 am

+1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bength and 42 guests