Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
user4646
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 20, 2022 8:27 am
Full Name: Basti
Contact:

Moving Jobs to a new Repository - not enough capacity

Post by user4646 »

Hi,

I'm still pretty new to Veeam B&R.

I want to move some Backup Jobs to a new repository . Both repositories are the same size (72 TB), direct attached and formatted in ReFS, but when copying the backup files to the new repository, i now ran out of space.
I assume because of the Advanced ReFS integration there was much more space that could be "used" on the old repository (190 TB).
Does this not automatically apply to the new repository? Currently i can't copy Job Files to the new repository when they have a bigger size than space left.

Thanks in advance
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8674
Liked: 2275 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Moving Jobs to a new Repository - not enough capacity

Post by Mildur »

Hi Basti

Welcome to the forum.
Yes, you are correct. Currently when you move files to a new repository, they will use the entire space.
In V11, you must use a block cloning tool for the data migration to keep the space savings.

If you can wait for V12 in early Q1, you will be able to move the backups with Veeam (VeeaMover) and keep the space savings from reFS.


Thanks,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
user4646
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 20, 2022 8:27 am
Full Name: Basti
Contact:

Re: Moving Jobs to a new Repository - not enough capacity

Post by user4646 »

Hi Fabian,

thanks for the fast reply. I will copy the files back to the old repository and wait for Version 12.
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8674
Liked: 2275 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Moving Jobs to a new Repository - not enough capacity

Post by Mildur »

You're welcome.
Please note, copying back will also use the entire size of the copied files. Please make sure that you have enough storage.

You can also just copy the the newest chain to the new repository and remap the backup jobs. Keep the old repository until the backups are out of their retention.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
user4646
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 20, 2022 8:27 am
Full Name: Basti
Contact:

Re: Moving Jobs to a new Repository - not enough capacity

Post by user4646 »

I did'nt delete the old backup files so I'll just change the repository in the job settings again.
I started copying ~2 weeks ago so there won't be much data loss.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 114 guests