Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
bbricker
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Feb 10, 2012 8:43 pm
Contact:

Multiple repositories?

Post by bbricker » May 19, 2015 1:36 pm

I recently setup some VB&R Copy jobs a couple weeks ago. After briefly reading/skimming through the admin guide section about Copy jobs, I apparently misunderstood how it would work and thought each Copy job would transform things regularly to keep only one VBK and then just store VIB changes for each archive restore point I asked for (last 6 days, last 4 weekends, the last 4 months, 1 annual). That was obviously wrong as I discovered a few days ago when my 14TB repo on the DR server started running out of space. I guess I can understand why the Copy process works that way since the risk of losing a single VBK that is a year old could spell disaster for the rest of the jobs in the chain. I will say I am disappointed, is there not a better way to scale out many restore points without keeping all these massive VBKs?

ANYWAY- the point to my question, I've run out of space on my new VB&R DR repo server. I figured, okay no problem, until I figure out a better solution, I'll just add a 2nd repo to the DR VB&R server, and tell the Copy jobs to use it. Maybe I'm missing something, but how do you tell a job to use multiple repos? I can only build max size 14TB LUNs on my DR SAN, so I've got 2 x 14TB LUNs/drives on the VB&R Windows DR server but can't see a way to get Veeam to utilize the 2nd one as needed. How do you scale repo size for backup/copy jobs where the first repo is not going to be able to satisfy it? Surely I am just missing a config setting or am not setting it up properly.

bbricker
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Feb 10, 2012 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple repositories?

Post by bbricker » May 19, 2015 1:39 pm

...and yes I know I could just concatenate multiple LUNs from my SAN on the Windows server using Windows disk management, but that seems kind of janky and an extra layer to break. Hopefully there is a built-in solution within Veeam to scale out more repos? :)

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16699
Liked: 1394 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Multiple repositories?

Post by veremin » May 19, 2015 2:01 pm

Maybe I'm missing something, but how do you tell a job to use multiple repos?
Single job can use single repository. You can copy existing backup files to a newly-created repository, and map your backup job to those files afterwards. Thanks.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6833
Liked: 697 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Multiple repositories?

Post by Shestakov » May 19, 2015 2:04 pm

Hello,
bbricker wrote:After briefly reading/skimming through the admin guide section about Copy jobs, I apparently misunderstood how it would work and thought each Copy job would transform things regularly to keep only one VBK and then just store VIB changes for each archive restore point I asked for (last 6 days, last 4 weekends, the last 4 months, 1 annual). That was obviously wrong as I discovered a few days ago when my 14TB repo on the DR server started running out of space.
Note, that backup copy jobs have 2 types of retention: Simple and GFS(historical). Simple retention applies to the most recent restore points and as you said contains 1 Full + Increments, while GFS retention works with historical backups which are all VBK file(full backups). That`s the reason why you have more data on your repositories than you thought.

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24465
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Multiple repositories?

Post by Gostev » May 19, 2015 2:52 pm

bbricker wrote:Hopefully there is a built-in solution within Veeam to scale out more repos? :)
Not at this time, but we are considering as a potential future enhancement.

bbricker
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Feb 10, 2012 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple repositories?

Post by bbricker » May 19, 2015 4:03 pm

Thanks for the responses. How are people scaling out their backup storage using Veeam? What is the work-around? Just make multiple jobs/copy jobs that point at different repos and hope that I can correctly calculate the future space needed for each?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24465
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Multiple repositories?

Post by Gostev » May 20, 2015 12:35 am

That is correct. There are also Veeam ONE reports that help with capacity planning.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests