NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby mmarodin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:16 am

Hello.

I've two sites, HQ and the DR one.
I'm using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Enterprise for VMware to replicate my VMs from HQ to the DR site, using the re-IP feature.

I've read some documentation about Network Extension Appliance, that enable a feature like proxy-ARP to do a (full or partial) failover, to establish a communication between clients and servers using the same subnet address from one site to the other.
But this feature is available only in Veeam Backup & Replication for Service Provider.

Is it possible to implement a feature like NEA using Veeam Backup & Replication for end-customer release?

Please let me know, thanks.
Bye, Morgan
mmarodin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:55 am
Full Name: Morgan Marodin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby gavrun » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:54 am

Hi Morgan,

As I understood, you have two sites, which simply can be added to veaam console backup infrastructure. Can you elaborate on the necessity why this feature would be beneficial for end-user, please?
Could you describe your network configuration in details, please?

Please, refer to the following:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Alexey
gavrun
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Alexey Gavrunov

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby mmarodin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:07 am

Hi Alexey.

For example I have some PLCs that are connected to some servers with static IP address.
I can't change these static configuration without changing physically the EPROM :)

So, if necessary, it would be easier doing a Partial Failover powering on the replica VM in the DR site (using an additional feature like NEA), without doing any client-side re-configuration to change IP addresses.

Please let me know if is it possible to implement something like that using Veeam.
Bye, Morgan
mmarodin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:55 am
Full Name: Morgan Marodin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:54 pm

Currently there are no plans to add NEA for scenarios outside of Cloud Connect. So, in your case site-to-site VPN and NAT/PAT seem to be still necessary. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby mmarodin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:01 pm

And what about Virtual Lab? Is it not possible to use this for my purpose?
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
mmarodin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:55 am
Full Name: Morgan Marodin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:26 pm

No, a virtual lab router only takes care of actions within the lab and not from site 1 to site 2.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1583
Liked: 349 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby mmarodin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:32 pm

Sorry, but in the documentation there is the proxy appliance in the Virtual Lab, too:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

> To enable communication between the production environment and isolated networks in the virtual lab, Veeam Backup & Replication uses a proxy appliance.
> The proxy appliance is an auxiliary Linux-based VM that is deployed on the ESX(i) host where the virtual lab is created.
> The proxy appliance VM is assigned an IP address from the production network and placed to the dedicated virtual lab folder and resource pool on the ESX(i) host.
>
> The proxy appliance is connected to the production network and to the isolated network and so has visibility of the production environment and virtual lab.
> In essence, the proxy appliance acts as a gateway between the two networks — it routes requests from the production environment to VMs in the virtual lab.
> ...

VMware hosts of the 2 sites are part of the same vCenter Datacenter, and Veeam is replicating VM from one site to the other.

Please let me know where I'm wrong :)
mmarodin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:55 am
Full Name: Morgan Marodin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:38 pm

The virtual lab can access the internet via the proxy but it still stays within 1 datacenter, there is no link to the 2nd datacenter (nor is it possible). As stated the whole lab is placed in a dedicated resource pool on the ESXi host. It won't provide a VPN connection like the NEA does within Cloud Connect.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1583
Liked: 349 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby mmarodin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:47 pm

Yes, but I have only 1 datacenter with 2 clusters (the 2 sites).
I haven't 2 datacenters.

I'm using my firewall to establish the site-to-site VPN tunnel
mmarodin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:55 am
Full Name: Morgan Marodin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:58 pm

By DС Niels must have referred to site or physical location, in other words. In your case, there are two sites (two different physical locations) and connectivity between them cannot be established via Virtual Lab which has been designed with a different use case in mind. So, your currently solution (site-to-site VPN) is still a way to go. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: NEA like feature for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 ent?

Veeam Logoby mmarodin » Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:02 pm

So i can use VIrtual Lab only in the same site to test purpose.
Thanks, I will try it
mmarodin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:55 am
Full Name: Morgan Marodin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DonZoomik, MKRoth, rweis and 44 guests