Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
placebo398
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2020 2:57 pm
Contact:

Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by placebo398 » Jan 07, 2020 3:02 pm

Good Morning,

I am attempting to add a repository to be used with B+R and keep running into an issue. I am adding a Synology NAS device and keep getting the "failed to get free disk space" error when trying to connect.

I can access the file location via Windows Explorer and the credentials that I have provided through Veeam. I have tried adding the NetUse registry key as I have seen suggested before but this has not made any difference.

Here is a few lines from the log when trying to add the NAS Repository:

Code: Select all

[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error    Failed to find directory info for \\ny-sto-101\nyops backups
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error    Failed to get disk free space (System.Exception)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error    Server stack trace: 
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at Veeam.Backup.Core.CFileCommanderHelper.FindDirInfoRecursive(IFileCommander fileCommander, String link, Func`2 checker)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at Veeam.Backup.Core.CWinFileCommander.FindDirInfo(String link)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at Veeam.Backup.Satellite.CSatelliteFileCommanderStub.FindDirInfo(String link)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.StackBuilderSink._PrivateProcessMessage(IntPtr md, Object[] args, Object server, Object[]& outArgs)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.StackBuilderSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage msg)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error    Exception rethrown at [0]: 
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.HandleReturnMessage(IMessage reqMsg, IMessage retMsg)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.PrivateInvoke(MessageData& msgData, Int32 type)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at Veeam.Backup.Common.IFileCommander.FindDirInfo(String link)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at Veeam.Common.Remoting.CRetryableMethod.DoInvoke[Ret](ActionDelegate`1 dlg)
[07.01.2020 06:25:49] <51> Error       at Veeam.Backup.Interaction.Management.CFileCommanderServiceStub.FindDirInfo(String link)
The location I am trying to add is the "\\ny-sto-101\nyops backups" location and again I can access this with no issues through Windows Explorer. I have also opened a case with Veeam Support and that Case Number is 03940055.

Do you have any other recommendations that I can try to get this repository added?

Thanks!

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11270
Liked: 958 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by Dima P. » Jan 07, 2020 4:27 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello and welcome to the community placebo398,

What type of account is used for CIFS share (dedicated user / anonymous access)? Any chance you are using AD accounts? Thanks!

placebo398
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2020 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by placebo398 » Jan 07, 2020 5:02 pm

Hi Dima!

I set up a non-AD account for this NAS device. I wanted Veeam to access the NAS using the NAS credentials and not have any access through our built-in AD.

So the credentials being used to configure the share are created on the NAS only and not on AD at all. I was able to connect to the path: \\ny-sto-101\nyops backups using the NAS credentials. We wanted to this location to be invisible to any AD users and only visible to this specific NAS account.

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 355
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by PetrM » Jan 07, 2020 5:08 pm

Hello!

One more idea is to examine Synology NAS system logs and to look for errors with the same timestamp (07.01.2020 06:25).
According to the stack trace above there was failed attempt to get a list of objects in the folder.

Thanks!

placebo398
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2020 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by placebo398 » Jan 07, 2020 7:22 pm

Hi Petr!

Thank you for the suggestion! I was able to pull the system logs from the NAS but there are so many different log files I am not sure which one this error would be in.

Do you have any idea where it might be contained in the logs?

Thanks!

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 355
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by PetrM » Jan 07, 2020 7:43 pm

It's difficult to say, I would search for all errors with the corresponding timestamp in the whole bundle.

Anyway, I'd recommend to continue troubleshooting with our support team.

Thanks!

placebo398
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2020 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by placebo398 » Jan 08, 2020 12:26 pm

Dima P. wrote:
Jan 07, 2020 4:27 pm
Hello and welcome to the community placebo398,

What type of account is used for CIFS share (dedicated user / anonymous access)? Any chance you are using AD accounts? Thanks!
Hi Dima!

I set up a non-AD account for this NAS device. I wanted Veeam to access the NAS using the NAS credentials and not have any access through our built-in AD.

So the credentials being used to configure the share are created on the NAS only and not on AD at all. I was able to connect to the path: \\ny-sto-101\nyops backups using the NAS credentials. We wanted to this location to be invisible to any AD users and only visible to this specific NAS account.

Is there any other information you need from me or anything else that may help with this?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11270
Liked: 958 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by Dima P. » Jan 08, 2020 12:44 pm 1 person likes this post

placebo398,

Thanks for the details! Can you please check if the nas account was used in hostname\accountname format in the repository wizard? Cheers!

placebo398
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2020 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Help Adding Synology NAS Repository

Post by placebo398 » Jan 08, 2020 1:37 pm

Hi Dima,

Well it turns out that I had the host/account name in the incorrect format. I had been using "\\hostname\accountname" as I usually would when logging in through a Windows connection.

Turns out the the first two backslashes are not needed when logging in through the repository wizard. I am glad that the problem is resolved and think it is a little funny that it turned out to be something so simple.

Thank you for the assistance!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 54 guests