Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
KeiichiKun
Enthusiast
Posts: 54
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Jul 21, 2016 3:59 pm
Contact:

Network loss tolerance

Post by KeiichiKun » Dec 13, 2016 2:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi all,
Is there any way to set network loss tolerance?
For example, if I have an error like "The system cannot find the file specified. Failed to write data to the file" during backup, and I know that is due to network loss, how is tolerance in this case? Veeam will retry for n seconds before giving the error? Tests n ping packet or other connection to repo?
Any way to set this value?
Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16688
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Network loss tolerance

Post by foggy » Dec 15, 2016 12:04 pm 5 people like this post

By default, the job tries to reconnect every 15 seconds during 30 minutes, after which fails. The timeout can be configured with the help of NewAgentReconnectEngineTimeoutSec (DWORD, in seconds) value.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22802
Liked: 2801 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Network loss tolerance

Post by Gostev » Dec 18, 2016 8:27 pm 1 person likes this post

Foggy, I assume you're talking about the first timeout (15 seconds), while the second timeout (30 minutes) comes from the hard coded number of the number of retries - and thus is directly dependent on the first timeout? Please confirm if that's correct.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16688
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Network loss tolerance

Post by foggy » Dec 19, 2016 11:39 am 1 person likes this post

It's actually the opposite: the registry value allows to change the default 30 minutes of retries, while the 15 seconds delay between retries is not configurable.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ctalbot, DGrinev and 50 guests