Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
CBlackmer
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Charlotte Blackmer

Newbie - Need guidance with VEEAM trial and test

Post by CBlackmer »

Greetings all,

Veeam Newbie here, trying to set up a pilot in our environment.

I’ve reviewed the FAQs but was wondering if there are links to whitepapers/forum posts about “how to successfully set up your trial”. My current plan is to set up the trial software, create a VM to backup/blow away/restore, then switch with backing up one of the production systems and restoring individual files, but any guidance for planning and testing would be appreciated. As a general note, we are a small company so our environment is not complicated (single site, single domain, etc.).

We have an Active Directory (2003 Domain level, 2003/2008 servers) VMWare ESXi 4.0 environment with:
File servers
SQL and other application servers
An Exchange 2007 server
A Sharepoint server <-- excited about the prospect of the new Sharepoint granular restore product
SAN back ends
NAS with CIFS available

Current backup is agent-based backup with BE 2010 to appliance with "virtual disks" (contents get dumped to tape weekly). We also have an email archiving server so restoring individual Exchange messages is generally covered. This has been working well for individual file restores but we’d like to be able to back up the app servers (Exchange and SQL-based) to be able to recreate them quickly in case of failure. We are also bumping against the limit of our virtual disks.