NFS client possible on VBR server?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:19 pm

OK, thanks for the update!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21504
Liked: 2380 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby EBoucq » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:50 am

One more question out of curiosity: how come a showmount command from a unix/linux client to a Veeam server doesn't return anything like there was no nfs share ?

Thanks.
EBoucq
Expert
 
Posts: 215
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:43 pm

Perhaps it simply does not implement this query, because it was never meant to be a full blown NFS server.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21504
Liked: 2380 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby EBoucq » Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:51 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for your answer Gostev.
FYI, your Veeam NFS server works perfectly!
EBoucq
Expert
 
Posts: 215
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Sep 26, 2014 3:56 pm

Well, it must work perfectly... in the end, our users are trusting it to run their production VMs when disaster hits ;)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21504
Liked: 2380 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:59 am

EBoucq wrote:Hi Gostev,

I finally worked this out. I thought a showmount would return the nfs share. I was wrong.
Plus I had no idea I had to use the string "/VeeamBackup" in the path since the share on the Veeam server is named NfsDatastore.
I guess I'm little confused but now it's working and that's what matters :-)
Thanks for your time !
Eric


Hello,

I can't get it work. What did you put exactly ?

Thanks a lot.
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:09 am

Have a look at https://www.veeam.com/kb1284. It explains how to mount the vPower NFS share.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1582
Liked: 348 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:15 pm

I tried it, but vPowerNFS logs said:

And vSphere client:
Échec de montage NFS 10.1.10.3:/VeeamBackup_BACKUP : le montage requis a été refusé par le serveur NFS. Vérifiez que l'export existe et que le client a l'autorisation de le monter.
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:18 pm

Siegfried, please avoid posting log snippets as per our forum rules. Full logs investigation is required here and our support team can assist you with this.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19770
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:19 pm

Sorry, i didn't read them. I'll open a support case.
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:23 pm

Is your Veeam server called BACKUP?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1582
Liked: 348 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:29 pm

Yes it is.

PS: i open support case: 01268795
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks to Konstantin K. (support team).

The solution was to add the FQDN like this and not just NETBIOS:
Address : 10.1.10.3
Repository : /VeeamBackup_BACKUP.domaine.lan
Name : VeeamBackup_BACKUP.domaine.lan

Your support is really great!
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Veeam Logoby fabian.muecher » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:20 pm

Not trying to resuscitate an old zombie thread, but it might help others that for me in Veeam B&R 9.5 the correct syntax was:

192.168.100.101/VeeamBackup_NetBIOSComputer.NetBIOSDOmain_
(e.g. 192.168.100.101/VeeamBackup_Server1.contoso_)

In no blog, KB article or forum thread was there an underscore appended...what did it for me was to delete the current vLab configuration from the cluster and re-add it manually and start a dummy Sure Backup Job to force Veeam to make the NFS mount itself.
Could it be that older Active Directory domains somehow drag some strange variations of NetBIOS syntax with them?
fabian.muecher
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:07 pm

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jorgen.b and 56 guests