Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22808
Liked: 2801 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by Gostev » Sep 25, 2014 4:19 pm

OK, thanks for the update!

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 217
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by EBoucq » Sep 26, 2014 7:50 am

One more question out of curiosity: how come a showmount command from a unix/linux client to a Veeam server doesn't return anything like there was no nfs share ?

Thanks.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22808
Liked: 2801 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by Gostev » Sep 26, 2014 12:43 pm

Perhaps it simply does not implement this query, because it was never meant to be a full blown NFS server.

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 217
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by EBoucq » Sep 26, 2014 1:51 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for your answer Gostev.
FYI, your Veeam NFS server works perfectly!

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22808
Liked: 2801 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by Gostev » Sep 26, 2014 3:56 pm

Well, it must work perfectly... in the end, our users are trusting it to run their production VMs when disaster hits ;)

smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by smarechal » Jan 06, 2016 10:59 am

EBoucq wrote:Hi Gostev,

I finally worked this out. I thought a showmount would return the nfs share. I was wrong.
Plus I had no idea I had to use the string "/VeeamBackup" in the path since the share on the Veeam server is named NfsDatastore.
I guess I'm little confused but now it's working and that's what matters :-)
Thanks for your time !
Eric
Hello,

I can't get it work. What did you put exactly ?

Thanks a lot.

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by vmniels » Jan 06, 2016 11:09 am

Have a look at https://www.veeam.com/kb1284. It explains how to mount the vPower NFS share.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by smarechal » Jan 06, 2016 12:15 pm

I tried it, but vPowerNFS logs said:

And vSphere client:
Échec de montage NFS 10.1.10.3:/VeeamBackup_BACKUP : le montage requis a été refusé par le serveur NFS. Vérifiez que l'export existe et que le client a l'autorisation de le monter.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21398
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 06, 2016 12:18 pm

Siegfried, please avoid posting log snippets as per our forum rules. Full logs investigation is required here and our support team can assist you with this.

smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by smarechal » Jan 06, 2016 12:19 pm

Sorry, i didn't read them. I'll open a support case.

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by vmniels » Jan 06, 2016 12:23 pm

Is your Veeam server called BACKUP?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by smarechal » Jan 06, 2016 12:29 pm

Yes it is.

PS: i open support case: 01268795

smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by smarechal » Jan 15, 2016 12:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks to Konstantin K. (support team).

The solution was to add the FQDN like this and not just NETBIOS:
Address : 10.1.10.3
Repository : /VeeamBackup_BACKUP.domaine.lan
Name : VeeamBackup_BACKUP.domaine.lan

Your support is really great!

fabian.muecher
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 01, 2013 1:07 pm
Contact:

Re: NFS client possible on VBR server?

Post by fabian.muecher » Jul 18, 2017 8:20 pm

Not trying to resuscitate an old zombie thread, but it might help others that for me in Veeam B&R 9.5 the correct syntax was:

192.168.100.101/VeeamBackup_NetBIOSComputer.NetBIOSDOmain_
(e.g. 192.168.100.101/VeeamBackup_Server1.contoso_)

In no blog, KB article or forum thread was there an underscore appended...what did it for me was to delete the current vLab configuration from the cluster and re-add it manually and start a dummy Sure Backup Job to force Veeam to make the NFS mount itself.
Could it be that older Active Directory domains somehow drag some strange variations of NetBIOS syntax with them?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 28 guests