Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

nfs repository

Post by arsprod » Jan 17, 2012 2:19 am

Is it possible in v6 to create an repository from a vmware nfs datastore without using Microsoft NFS services? It seems like it should be simple but I can't seem to figure it out (or find a kb article). Thanks,

Aaron

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24641
Liked: 3468 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 17, 2012 4:35 am

Hi Aaron, you should mount it to the Linux server, and Veeam supports Linux server targets natively. Thanks!

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by arsprod » Jan 17, 2012 1:48 pm

'the Linux server' as in the esxi box itself?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5402
Liked: 2229 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by tsightler » Jan 17, 2012 2:52 pm

ESXi is not supported as a backup target. If you have an NFS datastore and you want to use this same datastore as a backup repository, then you need to find somewhere to mount this datastore. Either a Linux system used as a repository or a Windows system with Microsoft NFS client.

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by arsprod » Jan 17, 2012 3:09 pm

Thanks, that's what I thought. In previous versions it wasn't possible to run ms nfs client/server on the veeam server. Is this true with 6?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24641
Liked: 3468 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 17, 2012 8:36 pm

Possible as long as you do not use your veeam server as backup repository with vPower NFS enabled.

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by arsprod » Jan 18, 2012 12:29 am

I disabled vpower nfs in the default repository (c:\backups). When I create a new repository using the mapped nfs drive it goes to the end and then fails saying it can't find the folder

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24641
Liked: 3468 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: nfs repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 18, 2012 4:42 am

Well, mapped drives are user-specific setting, so the service account will simply not "see" mapped drives you create under some other user account.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 50 guests