Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
brentdowling
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 16, 2016 3:43 pm
Full Name: Brent Dowling
Contact:

[MERGED] Catalyst Copy Support

Post by brentdowling » Jan 08, 2018 2:38 am

Are there any plans in the works to support Catalyst Copy? I do not see it on the features listed in 10.

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: Catalyst Copy Support

Post by jazzoberoi » Jan 08, 2018 5:16 am

+1 We need this as well.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5226
Liked: 549 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Catalyst Copy Support

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 08, 2018 6:19 am

Hi Brent, Jazz,

Please have a look at this topic: veeam-backup-replication-f2/no-catalyst ... 50-60.html and the last response of Foggy.

PS: I tried to merge the topic but for some reason it fails for me today... Maybe I need more coffee ;-)

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by jazzoberoi » Jan 09, 2018 11:53 am

foggy wrote:We cannot share the exact release vehicle that will contain this functionality. Having said that, this functionality is in the works. Thanks!
Sweet JEZUZ !! Thank you !

Now that HP are introducing StoreOnce Cloud Bank Storage it becomes even more critical to have support for catalyst copy :) Otherwise it cannot work with Veeam !

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17390
Liked: 1443 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » Jan 09, 2018 11:55 am

CloudBank itself is a whole different story and that would require additional effort to support.

markc-laserf
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 11, 2018 1:39 am
Full Name: Mark Currie
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by markc-laserf » Jan 11, 2018 1:48 am

Catalyst copy/Cloud bank support is needed as well, Cloudbank is now GA, and I am already doing pricing requests for HP Storeonce and the Cloudbank feature...

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by jazzoberoi » Jan 15, 2018 2:10 am

+1 Same here,

CloudBank is one awesome feature as it uses the Catalyst deduplication to store unique data in a deduplicated state into the Azure BLOB storage which equals Less data bandwidth required to store less data in the cheapest way possible offsite :)

Sloan
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2013 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Sloan » Mar 13, 2018 4:35 pm

Hoping for Catalyst Copy and HPE Cloud Bank support in the future too. We have financial data backups that have a 7 year retention for quarterly backups which currently go to tape so that the long term archives aren't on "expensive" deduplication storage. As we are trying to minimize tape as well, a catalyst copy to cloud would be of great interest.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23600
Liked: 3112 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Gostev » Mar 14, 2018 11:23 am

Would our native support of archiving to cloud solve this need?

Sloan
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2013 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Sloan » Mar 19, 2018 3:20 pm

Probably so. The customer is looking into various archive solutions. Anything I can do to give them multiple reasons for cloud solutions is a win. "hey look, we have StoreOnce already... here's one more integration with cloud for flexibility."

KevinW
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 11:16 am
Full Name: Kevin Wilcox
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by KevinW » May 24, 2018 2:12 pm

Does anyone know the status of Catalyst copy support? I have had a business requirement change whereby my backups need to be encrypted at rest so I've purchased a number of catalyst encryption licenses. Sadly I can only encrypt a catalyst store upon creation and I don't really have a mechanism for copying my existing backups to the new encrypted stores.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17390
Liked: 1443 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » May 24, 2018 2:40 pm

I don't think you need Catalyst Copy support in Veeam B&R for that. You can use Catalyst Copy itself to migrate backups to another store, remove them from Veeam B&R configuration, rescan the new repository, and then map existing jobs to the new store.

KevinW
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 11:16 am
Full Name: Kevin Wilcox
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by KevinW » May 24, 2018 2:57 pm

Hi foggy - thanks for the quick reply - are you talking about the inbound/outbound copy jobs which can be defined on the stores? I've been in contact with HP support and the best that they could come up with to solve this problem was to try and use an RMAN catalyst copy plugin. :(

Edit: It might be worth mentioning that I need to copy the data to a new catalyst store on the same device....

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17390
Liked: 1443 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » May 24, 2018 5:35 pm

Sorry, I totally forgot that you cannot trigger Catalyst Copy from StoreOnce GUI.

KevinW
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 11:16 am
Full Name: Kevin Wilcox
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by KevinW » May 25, 2018 8:20 am

Dang! for a moment there was a glimmer of hope for me... :D

So do you happen to know if Veeam Catalyst Copy is still happening?

Cheers

Kev

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests