Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
mechlor
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 12, 2010 2:58 am
Full Name: Randy Pena
Contact:

noob needs a kick start

Post by mechlor » Mar 12, 2010 3:05 am

I just installed the trial version...on an esx4...i can get it to backup but replication fails with the errors below...is this a time out to the local esx or remote? do i have to explicitly open any ports for replication to work? Thanks in advance

5 of 5 files processed

Total VM size: 232.79 GB
Processed size: 15.55 KB
Processing rate: 0 KB/s
Backup mode: NBD with changed block tracking
Start time: 3/11/2010 8:44:31 PM
End time: 3/11/2010 9:29:07 PM
Duration: 0:44:36

Replicating file "[ESX Storage] TS Server/TS Server-flat.vmdk"
BackupDisk failed
Client error: Connection timed out
Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [109].

Server error: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host
Failed to process VM disk backup. VMDK path: [vddk://<vddkConnSpec><viConn name="localhost" authdPort="443" vicPort="443" /><vmxPath vmRef="vm-352" datacenterRef="datacenter-26" datacenterInventoryPath="New Datacenter" snapshotRef="snapshot-667" datastoreName="ESX Storage" path="TS Server/TS Server.vmx" /><vmdkPath datastoreName="ESX Storage" path="TS Server/TS Server.vmdk" /><transports seq="nbd" /><readBuffer size="2097152" /></vddkConnSpec>].

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23010
Liked: 1560 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: noob needs a kick start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 12, 2010 10:10 am

Hello Randy,

Judging by the error message I see that the connection timed out, so could you tell us if you were able to backup that VM successfully? Do you see this error happening on all replication jobs? If so could you tell us what is the destination host for your replicas?

Also it will be great to see the job logs, so please forward them to support@veeam.com, and our technical team would be able to assist you with the issue.

Thank you!

mechlor
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 12, 2010 2:58 am
Full Name: Randy Pena
Contact:

Re: noob needs a kick start

Post by mechlor » Mar 13, 2010 12:56 am

I was able to back it up, just not replicate. This is the first replication job, so i'm thinking more along the lines of i forgot something. This was going to another esx server over the vpn. I just sent the html report (same as job log?)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23010
Liked: 1560 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: noob needs a kick start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 13, 2010 11:17 am

Randy,

You should send job log from Help|Support Information, if you only fail to replicate to an offsite host, it means the WAN connection might be causing the issue, anyway we need to see the job log to see what is the reason for the failure.

Thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jayscarff, PetrM and 38 guests