Nutanix AHV

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby jame » Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:28 pm

@dellock6
I don't discuss about Nutanix price, I was talking that I have many customer actually using vSphere+Veeam+Nutanix. It is not a bugdet restriction, it is more that fact that VMware remove Enterprise licences, so customer will have to buy more or get less (mostly DRS), so customers start to look for a move. It may change with win2016 but for 2012r2, customer that know vSphere won't go to Hyper-V as it, they are more interested buy KVM. From my point of view their is more traction with OpenStack (as KVM is the best fit).
jame
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:00 am

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Napiz » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:48 am

Hello,

Here are few reasons to use AHV:
1. License price for adding 4th Node.
2. DR minimum Nodes are 4, so VMWare Essentials Kit is no good. now its expensive, and think if i use 6 Nodes, 3 on each side.
3. Hyper-v is not simple to manage so i rather use AHV then Hyper-V
4. Nutanix give me support with 4 hours SLA for the AHV, Very important for my customers.

i can find many more reasons to go to AHV, so i am +1 +1 +1 +1...

Napiz,
Napiz
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:40 am
Full Name: Lipaz Hessel

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby GilesEadon » Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:42 pm

+1 for Nutanix AHV support.
GilesEadon
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:35 am
Full Name: Giles Eadon

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby RobF » Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:05 pm

Veeam, I understand the ROI math Veeam has to do on AHV/KVM support.

However, I have math to consider on my side too. I'm currently running 83 hosts of vSphere Enterprise Plus, nearly all Nutanix, and have moved all of our backups to Veeam. We are enthusiastic Veeam customers. That doesn't change the fact that I would be irresponsible not to evaluate AHV for 2017. Nutanix has already proven their reliability to us, and the potential savings moving to AHV are huge. If I have to make the choice between losing Veeam or a six-figure cost savings, Veeam isn't going to win. My evidence is only anecdotal, but conversations with my peers indicate others are taking a hard look at the same numbers.
RobF
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:51 pm
Full Name: Robert Franklin

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby jlh304 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:14 pm

Veeam needs to get support for Nutanix's Acropolis. Nutanix's solution is awesome and to be honest the only reason to stay with VMware would be to continue to use Veeam. But the cost justification just doesn't make sense so I will need to look at replacing Veeam if you can't backup Acropolis. Nutanix is a rising star and it is worth being fully supported by Veeam. I'm leaving VMware for acropolis, and there are many more of us out there making the same decision. Unfortunately this means I will have to leave Veeam as well unless you can support AHV, and I love Veeam.
jlh304
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:58 pm
Full Name: Justin

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby NordicNorm » Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:59 pm

Another long time Veeam customer who has recently migrated to Nutanix and would like to see Veeam offer support for Acropolis.
NordicNorm
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:51 pm
Full Name: Norman Neil

[MERGED] Veeam B&R to support Nutanix AHV (Acropolis)

Veeam Logoby btanguay » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:28 pm

Hi,

That more a question for Veeam folks, but let see. Is there any plan in the future for Veeam B&R to support other Hypervisor like the AHV on Nutanix box?
I've already read that they wait to see if the AHV will become popular.
Thanks.
btanguay
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:58 pm
Location: Boucherville, QC, Canada
Full Name: Benoit Tanguay

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:32 pm

Benoit, please review Anton's reply on the previous page for the answer.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby btanguay » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:42 pm

Thanks
btanguay
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:58 pm
Location: Boucherville, QC, Canada
Full Name: Benoit Tanguay

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby toffitomek » Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:49 am

I think Nutanix has now some Backup CBT API available:
https://www.nutanix.com/2016/09/21/comp ... -software/

and from here:
http://myvirtualcloud.net/nutanix-5-0-f ... ing-part-2
Acropolis Change Block Tracking (CBT) for Backup Vendors
With AOS 5.0 backup vendors can take full advantage of Nutanix based CBT (hypervisor agnostic) to take both incremental and differential backups of disks and VMs more efficiently. If your cluster only running VMware vSphere you already have CBT via the hypervisor; however with Nutanix CBT similar capabilities are available to the base platform enabling multi-hypervisor CBT support. Administrator will now be able use the same backup tools and methods across all supported hypervisors.
Nutanix CBT utilizes the new REST 3.0 API that can be used to query for the changed meta-data regions given any two snapshots of a virtual disk or virtual machine. The approach is valuable for taking incremental and differential backups; and even useful while taking full backups because the API identifies regions that are spare (zeroed), therefore saving on read operations.
Nutanix will soon announce backup partners integrating natively with the platform.
toffitomek
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 3:07 pm
Full Name: Tomasz Foltman

[MERGED] new feature

Veeam Logoby HBGNB » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:46 pm

Hello,

is it possible to add the hypervisor from NUTANIX (AHV) to VEEAM B&R ?

wbr
George
HBGNB
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:43 pm
Full Name: George

Re: new feature

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:59 pm

Hello George and welcome to the community!
So far only VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V are supported by Veeam.
Your request is taken into account though. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4530
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: new feature

Veeam Logoby HBGNB » Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:32 am

Hello,

thanks a lot.
I hope so because NUTANIX is growing very fast.
When you check their customers you will see....
HBGNB
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:43 pm
Full Name: George

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby timcoles » Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:33 pm

Just finished a Nutanix POC with AHV and we're really happy with it. Only doubt we have is lack of Veeam support.

This is unlikely to be a deal breaker though as we can always use CommVault if we have to. Would much rather use Veeam though.

Cheers,

Tim
timcoles
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:59 pm
Full Name: Tim Coles

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:41 pm

You could always use the Veeam Agents for Windows and Linux to protect your VMs running on any unsupported hypervisor.

Joe
jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 727
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], EIvanov, Hauke and 21 guests