Nutanix AHV

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Mar 02, 2017 7:13 pm 2 people like this post

TeamNorthwoods wrote:In a few years, I suspect that Nutanix will control a much larger portion of the market.

And if this actually happens, then I am positive that we will support it with our product.

We do realize that we may lose some existing customers until we have support, but this is the necessary evil and is unavoidable with any new technology appearing. Plus, we will always have an option to make it easy for them to come back to Veeam if they want to!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21442
Liked: 2361 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:45 pm 3 people like this post

TeamNorthwoods wrote:+1 for AHV support. We are moving away from an 8 host ESXi environment to a 3 host AHV environment. I can't justify keeping around ESXi or moving to Hyper-V. It's not only added cost, as many others have argued, it's also added complexity. While I really enjoy using Veeam, I can't continue to use it if it requires me to add another layer to support in ESXi/Hyper-V. As a small IT team, we are trying to eliminate complexity, and keeping one of those hypervisors is moving in the wrong direction.

Let's face it - hypervisors are nearly commoditized these days, especially in the SMB segment of the market. It's time for Veeam to accept that, even if it means developing for what now is a small market. In a few years, I suspect that Nutanix will control a much larger portion of the market. In the meantime though, I'll be forced to move to something else like CommVault if Veeam has no plans for AHV support, and that's a shame.

I find it interesting you picked a replacement solution that didn't work with a product you already had. Surely that limits any savings you make going from ESXi to AHV? Also, I'm not aware of any product to migrate out from AHV, I know of a few that migrate in. Are you not concerned about lock in? What if Nutanix is bought by an established vendor and decide to deprecate the product? You then find yourself in the position of having to create a whole new solution and migrate.

Cost isn't only about purchase price.
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Location: North East UK
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby tomas.olsen » Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:58 am 1 person likes this post

I enjoy a good comparison of any product. Both hardware and software solutions. That beeing said, to this day I still have not experienced such thing. Every vendor is too busy trying to emphasize their own strengths not caring how narrow they might be and trying to hide features they are not so good at. This makes comparison difficult in most cases. Generally speaking.
If you argue that you are tired of the expenses related to one hypervisor with 8 hosts, and brag about the effectiveness of another that utilizes only 3 hosts to serve the same purpose, the physical hardware compared can not have been the same. That would be like comparing your old 5400rpm laptop harddrive with the newest SSD and arguing that the SSD is so much better. Off course it will be. Intel and many other developers provide the majority of consolidation ratios today regarding CPU at least. That being said, Dell servers can tolerate just as many vm's as Lenovo or HP servers as long as the underlying harware is about the same or supermicro for that matter.
The hypervisor, how it manages physical resources and further how it schedules them to virtual machines can also take some of the credit in performance and consolidation ratios. But today one hypervisor is not twice or three times more effective then another at this job. My believes is that the differences is minor.
So It is complex to calculate the TCO of any solution and one are bound to forget pieces of importance that would influence the TCO substantially either way. TCO is about more then just the cost of a socket license for the hypervisor, much more.
I feel that today is more about closing deals and grasping market shares than having the best interests of the customer in mind. I think one must be better at taking a higher ground and getting a better and more complete view of the environment before making huge investments in infrastructure. When you invest, you often invest for a 3-5 year timeperiod. within that period it is common to adjust the initial investment by adding resources like a node, more ram or disk to existing nodes and so forth. I have been in the market for a while, and I, as well as many of you boys and girls out there, know that you get enormous discounts on a new investment. But when it is time to add more cpu/ram/disk, you rarely see the same discounts. Which again ads to the complexity of calculating TCO. Dependent on what solution you chose and how it has been sized, some have to reinvest earlier then others.

At the moment I am calmly watching the market, trying to get a bearing of where it is taking us. there are many and major players out there today. trying to see where we are going is not easy at the moment. Cloud has also been a buzz word for quite some time. Maybe the era of one or a few big players is past. Maybe the future is just about having an enormous amount of small players to chose from, where you can take your environment and jump form one solution to the other as often as you like at small costs. just like changing your mobile carrier or how you can buy electricity from one supplier one month, and another the next month...
Who knows were we will be tomorrow....

Sorry, That was more then just my two thoughts, but then again....
This reply was meant more as a general reply and not as a reply just for or against Nutanix.

Thanks for a great forum and good discussions! :)
tomas.olsen
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 52
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:18 pm
Full Name: Tomas Olsen

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby dlink7 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:20 pm

Hey

Going from ESXI to AHV and back again is possible with built in automation. I guess it would possible to have a three node cluster with 1 ESXI node and 2 storage nodes and use cross hypervisor DR to backup the VMs with Veeam. The reality the ratore would be messy but hey its an option. :-)
dlink7
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:25 pm
Full Name: Dwayne Lessner

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:14 pm 1 person likes this post

Man after my own heart. When I was chatting with a Nutanix tech and said this, he said 'err yeah, OK, mmmm, yeah.........." Was like watching a computer do Divide by 0 :)
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Location: North East UK
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby trumby90 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:54 pm

We have also been having the same internal debate/struggle. For nearly 2 years suffering from poor performing backups because we are running a Hypervisor on Nutanix that does not have built in Change Block Tracking (CBT). Our environment is built on Hyper-V backed up with Veeam before switching to Nutanix hardware, so it was a rude shock to find this out. We also have a separate VMware cluster backed up with Veeam also. Very happy with our Nutanix solution but have been Hanging out for Windows 2016 to be supported. We have been an early beta test site with Nutanix, we built a Cluster running Hyper-V 2016 and backed it up using Veeam. From the info I have it looks like it is going to work as we want CBT etc… however support for this solution from Nutanix is still months away…

I have waited so long why give up now you might say? The introduction of AVH and a supported enterprise backup solution with Commvault that can back it up and our VMware environment looks attractive. Also we will then have the ability to run AVH and VMware together on the same Nutanix cluster. So it has been a long road but sadly may be the end for us with Veeam… unless something changes.

Thanks
trumby90
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:55 pm

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby asavage » Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:24 pm

+1 to AHV support. New DR site will be AHV, production is still VMware - but that may change.

Also, would love Veeam to integrate with Nutanix snapshots - much like Veeam's NetApp integration.
asavage
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:00 pm
Full Name: Adam Savage

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby HBGNB » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:11 am

Hello,
we are using EXCHANGE on a AHV cluster. This is very quick and works fine.
But I cannot use VEEAM with AHV, so please support it as soon as possible.

Thanks.
HBGNB
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:43 pm
Full Name: George

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby markus.bach » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:36 pm

We're thinking of using Nutanix AHV as well, but as long as it is not supported by Veeam this is almost not possible. Thinking of Commvault as an alternative as it supports AHV already.
markus.bach
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:11 am
Full Name: Markus Bach

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Matt@Work » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:23 pm 1 person likes this post

***Public service announcement***

Other HCI vendors are available :)
Matt@Work
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:41 am
Location: North East UK
Full Name: Matt Collier

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby tsun8824 » Tue May 09, 2017 5:59 pm

I was looking for a possible solution on how to use veeam to backup AHV when selling new IT solutions to customers...

Couldn't I just use the new veeam windows agent on all of the VMs which run on AHV?

Yes, it is much more work because I have to install the agents of all VMs..
Or I could just include the veeam agent in the server template...

This should work, right? Is there any known negative impact or limitation in comparison to traditional vsphere-veeam-agentless backup?
tsun8824
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 09, 2017 9:11 pm

Correct, you can use the Veeam Agents to backup Linux and Windows VM's on Nutanix systems :-).
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1555
Liked: 340 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 09, 2017 9:13 pm

tsun8824 wrote:Yes, it is much more work because I have to install the agents of all VMs..
Or I could just include the veeam agent in the server template...

Depending on how many agents you're going to be deploy you might be able to use Veeam Availability Console, that provides centralized management (deployment, configuration, monitoring) for Veeam Agent for Windows.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19707
Liked: 1117 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby dwnek » Wed May 24, 2017 2:48 pm

vmniels wrote:Correct, you can use the Veeam Agents to backup Linux and Windows VM's on Nutanix systems :-).

I've been monitoring this thread for a while because we're eagerly awaiting some sort of AHV support, but we were just told we'd need to buy entirely new licensing if we wanted to use the Windows Agents...
dwnek
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 3:39 am
Full Name: Danny

Re: Nutanix AHV

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 24, 2017 4:28 pm

Yes, that's correct. Veeam backup agents is a different product set from Veeam Backup & Replication, which has its own licensing model. However, there is a free version of the product too.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19707
Liked: 1117 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 25 guests