Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Veeam Logoby notsogood » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:29 pm

Our Veeam B&R server is at our main site (SITE-A). We have a Veeam Backup Proxy and Backup Copies stored at a remote location (SITE-B). I'm trying to restore a Virtual Disk from one of the backup copies at "SITE-B" to a host at "SITE-B".
My assumption was all the restore traffic would go directly from the "SITE-B" Repository --to the--> "SITE-B" Proxy --to the--> "SITE-B" Host.
What we're actually seeing is from the "SITE-B" Repository --to the--> "SITE-B" Proxy --to the--> "SITE-A" Veeam B&R server --to the-->"SITE-B" Proxy --to the--> "SITE-B" Host

The traffic is going to and from our main site across the WAN, resulting in a much slower Restore process. I might be wrong in thinking the remote proxy would handle the entire process remotely. Is there a better way to achieve my goal without having to license another Veeam server?
notsogood
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:53 pm
Full Name: Chase

Re: Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:48 pm

What type of repository is used at site B? Isn't it a CIFS share by any chance? Also, are there any proxy affinity rules in place? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14052
Liked: 1052 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Veeam Logoby notsogood » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:02 pm

Solved.

The repository is an EMC DataDomain. Veeam Support suggested setting the Mount Server for the repository in Veeam B&R. I also realized that the repo's Gateway Server was set to a server at the main site. The issue was fixed as soon as I changed the Gateway Server and the Mount Server to the Proxy/WAN Accelerator at the same site as the repository.

More information for Mount Servers here:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
notsogood
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:53 pm
Full Name: Chase

Re: Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:00 pm

I also realized that the repo's Gateway Server was set to a server at the main site.

Yes, that's exactly what I suspected. If all components, including repository, mount and gateway servers, are present in remote office, the traffic will be isolated to it.

Anyway, good to know that you've solved the problem.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14052
Liked: 1052 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], KevinJ and 1 guest