Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
notsogood
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 04, 2018 5:53 pm
Full Name: Chase
Contact:

Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Post by notsogood » Jan 04, 2018 6:29 pm

Our Veeam B&R server is at our main site (SITE-A). We have a Veeam Backup Proxy and Backup Copies stored at a remote location (SITE-B). I'm trying to restore a Virtual Disk from one of the backup copies at "SITE-B" to a host at "SITE-B".
My assumption was all the restore traffic would go directly from the "SITE-B" Repository --to the--> "SITE-B" Proxy --to the--> "SITE-B" Host.
What we're actually seeing is from the "SITE-B" Repository --to the--> "SITE-B" Proxy --to the--> "SITE-A" Veeam B&R server --to the-->"SITE-B" Proxy --to the--> "SITE-B" Host

The traffic is going to and from our main site across the WAN, resulting in a much slower Restore process. I might be wrong in thinking the remote proxy would handle the entire process remotely. Is there a better way to achieve my goal without having to license another Veeam server?

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15397
Liked: 1163 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 04, 2018 6:48 pm

What type of repository is used at site B? Isn't it a CIFS share by any chance? Also, are there any proxy affinity rules in place? Thanks.

notsogood
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 04, 2018 5:53 pm
Full Name: Chase
Contact:

Re: Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Post by notsogood » Jan 09, 2018 5:02 pm

Solved.

The repository is an EMC DataDomain. Veeam Support suggested setting the Mount Server for the repository in Veeam B&R. I also realized that the repo's Gateway Server was set to a server at the main site. The issue was fixed as soon as I changed the Gateway Server and the Mount Server to the Proxy/WAN Accelerator at the same site as the repository.

More information for Mount Servers here:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15397
Liked: 1163 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Offsite restore from an offsite backup

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 09, 2018 6:00 pm

I also realized that the repo's Gateway Server was set to a server at the main site.
Yes, that's exactly what I suspected. If all components, including repository, mount and gateway servers, are present in remote office, the traffic will be isolated to it.

Anyway, good to know that you've solved the problem.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests