Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Ben Milligan
Expert
Posts: 173
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Ben Milligan » Mar 01, 2012 1:14 pm

Also would like to know your case number, Todd, the last case I see open for you was in December. We can review the details certainly.

Thanks

CCB-IT
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 7:16 pm
Full Name: CCB IT
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by CCB-IT » Mar 01, 2012 3:00 pm

Just so I can be certain, deleting it from the disk will remove all backup points for that VM correct?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by foggy » Mar 01, 2012 3:08 pm

Correct.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Gostev » Mar 04, 2012 8:20 pm

Just to update, our support now has the hotfix for one of the OIB issues (there are a few) available. Open a support case to have your issue investigated, and if your issue is the same, you will receive the hotfix. Thanks!

dwoodward
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 10, 2012 12:56 pm
Full Name: Don Woodward
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by dwoodward » Mar 05, 2012 12:00 am

Where is that patch?

mbell98
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 21, 2011 5:41 pm
Full Name: Mark Bell
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by mbell98 » Mar 05, 2012 1:02 am

I've run into this problem a few times myself. Do we need to open a case with tech support to get this hotfix?

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21537
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 05, 2012 7:12 am

Yes, all hotfixes are available through our support team only.

lobo519
Expert
Posts: 297
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by lobo519 » Mar 05, 2012 1:41 pm

Question - This past weekend I got this error on 5 of my VMs. After trying the delete from backup work around I now get this error "3/4/2012 2:06:21 PM :: Error: The remote procedure call failed RPC function call failed. Function name: [DoRpc]. Target machine: [IP or repo]." The first disk seems to process fine but the second fails after processing it for quite some time. with the above error.

Is this related?

Note I was running a new full back in a new repo - normally reverse incremental

ZachW
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Zach Weed
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by ZachW » Mar 05, 2012 1:43 pm

No, these are two un-related errors. For this issue please create a ticket with support.

averylarry
Expert
Posts: 260
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2011 7:43 pm
Full Name: Ted
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by averylarry » Mar 05, 2012 7:55 pm

Support case #5177017.

This is the response I just received from tech support:

Hi Ted,
With the error that you are getting:


OIB already exists

You can workaround this issue for now by expanding the backup set, right-clicking on the problematic vm(s) and deleting from disk (This is also why removal from dynamic org folder did the trick). The next job run will run a full for that particular guest. To avoid this on non SQL/Exchange servers, just disable log truncation as it is not necessary. For SQL/Exchange, we'll need to ensure VSS is functioning properly for log truncation, if that is how you are leverage Veeam VSS in your restoration planning/process.

Thanks,

(the support person's name)
No warning that the backups will be lost (or acknowledgement that they are already corrupt and lost). No mention of the patch that in theory is available (unless they actually investigated my logs and determined that the patch isn't relevant).

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Cokovic » Mar 06, 2012 6:57 am

Is it really necessary to delete the backup from disk?

Just asking cause for us it worked to delete the job, recreate it and then map the existing backup. The next run everything was fine again.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by foggy » Mar 06, 2012 9:47 am

There are several OIB issues currently, it is quite possible that some of them do not require deleting backups from disk.

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Cokovic » Mar 06, 2012 9:57 am

Thanks for info. Then i think i'm a lucky one that i don't need to delete existing backups :D

Ben Milligan
Expert
Posts: 173
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Ben Milligan » Mar 06, 2012 1:27 pm

All - if you do incur this behavior, I do advise retrying with truncation disabled or set to truncate immediately for this specific error "Oib already exists in point 'id=...'" following failed log truncation. This is in of course accordance with your SQL/Exchange log truncation recovery policies for your environment in mind. There are instances where this can be recoverable, and deleting from disk is the final, worst case scenario option. Please engage our support directly for assistance with any OIB errors you may have experienced.

Thanks!

Tom Bale
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 08, 2011 10:11 am
Full Name: Thomas Bale
Contact:

Re: Oib already exists in point 'id=...'

Post by Tom Bale » Mar 07, 2012 9:34 am

Vitality, I have contacted support for the hotfix and even linked to this thread but got this reply:
Hi Tom,
Unfortunately, there is no hotfix for that OIB issue, but the current workaround is:

You can workaround this issue for now by expanding the backup set, right-clicking on the problematic vm(s) and deleting from disk (This is also why removal from dynamic org folder did the trick). The next job run will run a full for that particular guest. To avoid this on non SQL/Exchange servers, just disable log truncation as it is not necessary. For SQL/Exchange, we'll need to ensure VSS is functioning properly for log truncation, if that is how you are leverage Veeam VSS in your restoration planning/process.
Job Ref#5176842

As someone else says this could be very misguiding to some, suggesting to delete from disk but not mentioning that this will remove previous backups. I am having this problem with an Exchange server and after forcing a full backup I still recieve this error message so I will try to truncate logs at the start of the job but I do not want to disable it entirely. Could this be at all related to the fact that that Exchange backup can take anything up to 20 Hours for us?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 35 guests