Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
nebulight
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Matt Gross

One or Two Jobs for custom schedule?

Post by nebulight »

I'm new to Veeam, but I think I understand how things work, but I'm not sure how to schedule a job like this for a local and offsite backup. The setup is a single ESXi host with 5 VMs. We have a NAS onsite and a NAS offsite to a branch office with a VPN connection between the two. We wants 4 days worth of backups (M-Thur) and 4 weekly backups (that would run on Friday). I know I could just do 20 restore points, but we are trying to save storage. Is there a way to keep the 4 weekly fulls while only have the incremental be 4 days?

Also with the offsite, when performing the synthetic full, if the target is a NAS, I assume I just have to select Linux server. Is the NAS by itself capable of doing the synthetic operation or does it require a PC at the remote branch? Or does the Veeam server do the operation?

thanks!
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: One or Two Jobs for custom schedule?

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

Hi Matt,

If you want to have local and offsite backup copy, then best practice would be to utilize backup jobs for storing backups locally and configure backup copy jobs to sync VM backup files with the offsite location.
nebulight wrote:I know I could just do 20 restore points, but we are trying to save storage. Is there a way to keep the 4 weekly fulls while only have the incremental be 4 days?
In order to save space on the local storage, you can use reversed incremental backup mode. In this mode the latest restore point will always be full backup and restore points for other days will be incremental. This is the most efficient backup mode in terms of disk space usage. On the other hand, if you want to have weekly fulls, then you can use forward incremental mode with synthetic full scheduled for each Friday.