Per socket licensing?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby boe » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:33 pm

Hello,

We have a backup server with 2 6core processors. The processors have tons of power. Can I license a single socket version of VEEAM and have it only take advantage of one processor to save money?
boe
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:05 pm
Full Name: boe dillard

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby chrisdearden » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:09 pm

the Sockets are in the hosts you are backing up from , not the backup servers themselves.
chrisdearden
Expert
 
Posts: 1530
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby boe » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:17 pm

Thanks - so if the the backup server has 2 6 core processors, can I license for one and just not use the second processor or should I set up a VM to perform the backups?
boe
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:05 pm
Full Name: boe dillard

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby ChuckS42 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:23 pm

What you assign to the backup server is irrelevant. The only socket count that matters is on the hosts running the virtual servers you're backing up.
ChuckS42
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 71
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:25 pm

The licensing model applies to host which VMs to back up reside on, not to backup server. If source host has multiple sockets, you cannot exclude one or several of those from being licensed. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13882
Liked: 1038 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby boe » Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:09 pm

Thanks
boe
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:05 pm
Full Name: boe dillard

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Nov 28, 2017 10:40 am

You're welcome; it might be also worth checking licensing FAQ in order to clarify the confusion. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13882
Liked: 1038 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:35 pm

I like Veeam's (occupied) socket based licensing model. It's much better than being nickel and dimed for each agent and feature.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 196
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Per socket licensing?

Veeam Logoby cbc-tgschultz » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:36 pm

I agree. Veeam's licensing model is great because I never had to guess how much it's going to cost me, unlike a certain other vendor I could name who's own licensing experts can't even give me a consistent answer.
cbc-tgschultz
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 1:48 pm
Full Name: Tanner Schultz


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NightBird, Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest