Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by RumataRus »

Hello!
Is it possible to have permanent Virtual Lab for testing purposes?
What we need to do that?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24349
Liked: 1893 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Not sure, I got your question. Could you please clarify what do you want to achieve?

RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by RumataRus »

I want to create Virtual Lab not only for verification integrity of backups but for some test actions on VMs in isolated network, e.g., apply patches for DCs, application servers etc.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24349
Liked: 1893 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by Vitaliy S. »

This is exactly what On-Demand sandbox is capable of, please take a look at our F.A.Q. section for further reading: On-Demand Sandbox. Thanks!

RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by RumataRus »

ОК, thank You!

emklennert
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 26, 2011 7:53 pm
Full Name: Ernest Klennert
Contact:

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by emklennert »

Concerning the on-demand sandbox, we are testing an upgrade to our ERP software and was hoping to use this feature. Testing will likely take a couple of days. However, the VMs in the test environment shut down every night as the backup window begins. Is there a way around this outside of disabling backup jobs?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by Gostev »

You could deploy another Veeam Backup installation, import required backups into it, and use the virtual lab from this install instead.

emklennert
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 26, 2011 7:53 pm
Full Name: Ernest Klennert
Contact:

Re: Permanent Virtual Lab

Post by emklennert »

I will give that a try. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 72 guests