Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 21, 2009 1:34 pm

Hi,
I got a question about Veeam software.
I need to take a physical machine to a virtualizated machine then a backup will be done (from physical to virtualizated). The virtualizated machine will be using Wmare server Free, and I need to know if exists a way to do it with veeam software.
Please help me!!..

Best regards,
Rodrigo G.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 21, 2009 2:06 pm

Rodrigo, you can use VMware Converter (free) to convert you machine from physical to virtual.

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 21, 2009 2:37 pm

hi Gostev,
thanks for the answer. I'm looking Vmwate Converter now, but I need to know if Veeam can take and carry a backup (incremental and full) of the physical Machine to the virtual machine.
My idea is get an a operational continuity with both machine, let me explain.
If the physical machine for some reason fails, the backup machine (virtual machine) will be operate.
Can Veeam make the backup work for this problem?


Thanks!!!!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 21, 2009 2:54 pm

Rodrigo, I understand your need and it makes perfect sense. But unfortunately, we do not offer this functionality at the moment...

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 21, 2009 3:15 pm

I undestand..

Thanks Gostev,

Best Regards,
Rodrigo

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 21, 2009 9:40 pm

Hi again, i figure out the last problem. But i need to know now if Veeam can make a backup of Vmware Server Free.

Thanks again.

Best Regards,

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 21, 2009 9:51 pm

Rodrigo, Veeam Backup has experimental support of VMware Server. However, if your VMware Server is Windows-based, then you are not going to get good performance (looks like some Windows porting issue). But if your VMware Server is Linux-based, then performance will be great.

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 21, 2009 10:06 pm

Ahh ok.. i will try it now!

Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 21, 2009 11:46 pm

Just be sure to provide custom port when adding your VMware Server to Veeam Backup console (VMware Server uses 8333 by default). Click Advanced on the same step where you enter credentials, and you enter the port there.

vbussiro
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2009 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by vbussiro » Sep 22, 2009 6:25 am

Interesting feature, good way to have transactional-state backup of these vm. How does it count socket for the licence ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 22, 2009 10:31 am

Right now the code does not distinguish between ESX and VMware Server sockets. We made this feature available beginning of this year as experimental to see if anyone will use it. But there was almost no interest in this to justify adding official support and special reduced pricing. Not sure if there are many users using this today...I know I am using it to backup my own lab. :mrgreen:

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 22, 2009 3:15 pm

Hi,
I try to adding vmware server to Veeam (adding the custom port and correct credentials) but it can't connect. The error returned is :
"Failed to login to [host] by SOAP, port 8333 user: [user], proxy srv: port:0.
The request failed with HTTP status 404: not found"
The webAdmin is working and started in vmware I can connect it via: https://[host]:8333

I'm doing something wrong?

Rgrds.

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 22, 2009 5:04 pm

PD: Sorry, my mistake I was using Vmware server 1.x and updated to version 2 and no error founds!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 22, 2009 6:33 pm

That is correct, VMware Server 1.0 does not have some newer APIs implemented, which is why it cannot be processed by Veeam Backup.

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 22, 2009 8:07 pm

Veeam backup now makes a backup from Vmware server 2, but it can't replicate... It's only replicates to ESX servers?
I made a second Vmware Server, addes to Veeam console, but the Replica Destination windows doesn't shows anything... Is there another way to do this?? :?:

Rgrs. :D

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24820
Liked: 3577 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Gostev » Sep 22, 2009 8:36 pm

Rodrigo, that is correct. Under the hood, VMware Server is treated as ESXi, and we cannot replicate to ESXi with the current version. However, we are planning to add ESXi replication functionality quite soon. And while I cannot guarantee, it very likely that this will work with VMware Server too.

Rodrigo
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 20, 2009 5:17 pm
Full Name: Rodrigo González A.
Contact:

Re: Physical to Virtualizated machines [Question]

Post by Rodrigo » Sep 22, 2009 9:26 pm

Hellow Gostev,
This will be great!!!
I hope that you can add this new features! :wink:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], PetrM and 56 guests