Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5626
Liked: 549 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by PTide »

Hi,

Your post has been merged into the existing discussion.

As to your problem - was mount operation finally successful or it just stopped there? The thing is that since 9.5 U2 VBR server passes all available IPs and hostnames to ESXi host and tries to mount NFS using one of those addresses/names. If it fails it should try the next on and so on. If that's not the case then please contact our support team for further investigation.

Thanks

Chri
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 15, 2018 8:45 am
Full Name: Christian
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by Chri »

Hi

No, it was not successful. It just stops

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5626
Liked: 549 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by PTide »

Therefore, it is an unexpected behaviour and I'm looking forward to you posting your support case ID :)

Thank you

Chri
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 15, 2018 8:45 am
Full Name: Christian
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by Chri » 1 person likes this post

Hi

I think i found the mistake:

As for KB1055 another process was locking port 111 :shock:
I think it was the Windows NFS service, which we also use on one of our repositories.

So i change the mount server of the repository to the server where no Windows NFS service is running.

Now the FLR mount seems to be working :oops:

Thanks

balma01
Certified Trainer
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

[MERGED] NFS mount not working in a Nutanix cluster

Post by balma01 »

Vmware vsphere installed on a Nutanix HW.
I have installed a proxy for each Nutanix node, so the proxy can acces the NFS server local IP (192.168.5.2) directly and not across the network. Every proxy is dual homed, the first NIC on the internal Nutanix vSwitch has a 192.168.5.x IP address and it's used to connect via direct NFS the NFS server, the second NIC ip is a 192.168.100.x and it's used for the communication to the VBR server.
Since the repository is a data domain, a proxy (proxy9) is performing the gateway server and the NFS mount server roles.
When I try to do an instant restore in host1, the host tries to mount the NFS datastore using proxy9, hosted in host9, as mount server but the NFS mount fails because the host is pointing to the 192.168.5.9 IP that is the proxy9 internal IP.
How to force the hosts to use the proxy external IPs to do the NFS mount ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19463
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by foggy »

Hi Mauro, mounting the datastore manually should help - see this thread for details. Thanks!

rurouni
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 24, 2013 7:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by rurouni »

Hi,
I'm facing the same issue on vsphere proxy on Nutanix nodes.
Randomly, the internal Nic dedicated to nutanix traffic is used to mount the Vpower NFS Datastore
However it is not reachable which is by design. Is it possible to specify on which Nic the NFS datastore will be mounted?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19463
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Possible to specify IP used for mounting NFS datastore

Post by foggy »

Have you tried to manually mount the datastore using the address in the required network (see above)?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 35 guests