Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
sanman
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2010 1:36 am

Post Failover Question

Post by sanman » Oct 05, 2010 8:59 am

Hello

I have been testing with Veeam across two ESX hosts on our DR Site. I have failed over one VM to a fairly recent rollback point on the secondary server and it is all running happily. However, there is still an open snapshot called "Veeam Backup running snapshot" on my test VM on the secondary host. Can i delete this snapshot? The backup is not running and all replication completed successfully before i failed over. Can you explain why this is please?

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22445
Liked: 1443 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Post Failover Question

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 05, 2010 9:07 am

Hello,

Please have a look at User Guide (page 17) for more information about the failover procedure:
http://www.veeam.com/files/guide/veeam_ ... _guide.pdf

Additionally, you may want to check out this topic as well:
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... ver#p19637

If you plan to continue doing replicas for this particluar VM (using it as a target), you need to keep the snapshot untouched.

Hope it helps!

sanman
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2010 1:36 am

Re: Post Failover Question

Post by sanman » Oct 05, 2010 9:38 am

Thanks Vitaliy. Makes sense after reading the posts you mentioned. On a side note, will an automatic failback feature be included in version 5 of the software?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Post Failover Question

Post by Gostev » Oct 05, 2010 9:43 am

No. If you have any questions about v5 features, please review the sticky v5 FAQ topic (failback is also covered there).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests