Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Locked
caustic386
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 3:50 pm
Full Name: Steve Bumpas
Contact:

Preseed backups for WAN

Post by caustic386 »

We would like to run our backups or replications over the WAN. I have tried running replications, but a single 160GB VM takes 3.5 hours even with CBT enabled.

Would backups be faster, as they would most likely be processed locally then sent out after dedupe/compression? If so, how can I preseed a backup?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Preseed backups for WAN

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Steve,

Where are you replicating to? Is it an ESXi host? What is the connection link between two sites?

You can preceed backup jobs just by choosing local destination target, then shipping backup files offsite and finally changing destination for your backup job to offsite location.

Thank you!

caustic386
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 3:50 pm
Full Name: Steve Bumpas
Contact:

Re: Preseed backups for WAN

Post by caustic386 »

It is an ESXi host on both ends, with a 10Mb connection in between.

I'm not sure why, but the replication process rarely exceeds 2Mb of bandwidth, nor will it use more than 2 vCPU cores when replicating over the WAN. When replicating over WAN, it will utilize all available CPU. I have dedupe/compression set to WAN/Best, respectively.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Preseed backups for WAN

Post by Vitaliy S. »

With ESXi targets we recommend placing backup server on the target site, it will give you best possible performance. Please look through this topic for additional information and continue posting there if needed: replication and ESXi

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], HugoHew, JRRW and 23 guests