Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
alexkay
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 19, 2013 9:27 am
Full Name: Alexandre Barth
Contact:

Problem adding a backup server in Enterprise Manager

Post by alexkay » Mar 19, 2013 10:01 am

Hi, i cant add my veeam backup server in Enterprise Manager because of network interfaces problem.

My veeam backup server has two network interfaces, one with 192.168.0.1 ip address and the second one with 192.168.1.1 ip address. 192.168.0.0/24 and 192.168.1.0/24 are two different lans, in different vlans with different gateways.

The Enterprise Manager server can only join the veeam backup server through its second network interface (192.168.1.1 address) because of networking routing and acl policies, so i can ping 192.168.1.1 address but not 192.168.0.1 address from Enterprise Manager server.

When i try to add my backup server in Enterprise Manager using 192.168.1.1 ip address, it fails with the following error message : Connection to "Veeam Backup Service" is not available.

Enterprise Manager logs :

Opening session on vbserver [192.168.1.1]
Connecting to backup server "192.168.1.1"
Obtain version of backup server "192.168.1.1"
Version is "6.5.0.0"
Switching to remote api version [6.5.0.0]

So first step seems to be ok, there is a connection between the two servers, but then in logs append the following lines :

Failed to add server [192.168.1.1]
(Next line is a traduction from french)
Connection has failes because 192.168.0.1:9392 host did not answered (System.Net.Sockets.SocketException)

So my question is why does the process switches on the other network interface ?

Is there a way to force Veeam Backup Service listening only on the second interface ?

Thanks for your help.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Problem adding a backup server in Enterprise Manager

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 19, 2013 10:13 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Alex,

Veeam B&R does not choose what interface to use, this action is performed on a lower level of OSI model by Windows server. Try applying the solution (use hosts/DNS adjustments) mentioned in this thread, should do the trick: Making Veeam Enterprise Manager work over a WAN link

Thanks!

alexkay
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 19, 2013 9:27 am
Full Name: Alexandre Barth
Contact:

Re: Problem adding a backup server in Enterprise Manager

Post by alexkay » Mar 19, 2013 12:31 pm

Thank you so much !! This solution is working great :P

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], lmbutault, unsichtbarre, wishr and 66 guests