Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Francisko34
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 12, 2013 11:13 am
Full Name: François CROS
Contact:

Problem during backup of a server in veaam

Post by Francisko34 »

Hi all,

When i try to backup a new vmware machine on veeam, the job fail with message :
"Production datastore 'LUN-IFSI-SECDIR' is getting low on free space (1,2 GB left), and may run out of free disk space completely due to open snapshots.
Error: Insufficient free disk space on production datastore 'LUN-IFSI-SECDIR'."

But I have enough space on the datastore where the machine is stored and enough space on the datastore used by veeam to save the machine.

Please help me ! :)

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1663 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Problem during backup of a server in veaam

Post by veremin »

Can you confirm that there is sufficient amount of free space on production datastore ("LUN-IFSI-SECDIR") to hold helper VB&R snapshots and also that during backup and replication jobs this amount doesn’t fall below the threshold specified in setting of VB&R (Menu -> Options -> Notification)?

If you can confirm it, kindly, contact our support team and let them investigate this behavior directly.

Thanks.

westinbuilding
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 16, 2013 8:00 am
Full Name: Nick Su
Contact:

Re: Problem during backup of a server in veaam

Post by westinbuilding »

v.Eremin.

Could you please define what is "sufficient amount of free space" is needed to satisfy Veeam?

On my installation, the notification is set at either 10GB or 10%...so if my VM guest is 100GB, I just need 10GB of free space on the datastore for the snapshot?

Thanks..

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Problem during backup of a server in veaam

Post by foggy »

westinbuilding wrote:Could you please define what is "sufficient amount of free space" is needed to satisfy Veeam?
Not Veeam but VMware, actually. This post should answer your questions.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 30 guests