Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jmai
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:03 am
Full Name: J.Mai
Contact:

Problem with a cloned BackServer

Post by jmai » Apr 02, 2019 2:35 pm

Hello,

we had to clone our Veeam backupserver since tthe cloning the Backupjob of the new server show in the job the name of the old one. This situation brings us to a failure with the involved copyjob
The one who failed has the error message:
Unable to determine the source backup file chain to use: multiple backups with the same instance ID exist in the specified sources for this Backup Copy job.

We have already removed the Agent from the new (cloned) server and removed the job. But without a result. There must be a place where he still get the old servername but we cant find it.

Regards...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18359
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Problem with a cloned BackServer

Post by foggy » Apr 03, 2019 4:04 pm

Could you please elaborate on the issue a bit? Do I understand right that you:

- Have cloned the Veeam B&R server itself.
- Looking at the job that backs the Veeam B&R server itself you now see the old name of the Veeam B&R server.

?

jmai
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:03 am
Full Name: J.Mai
Contact:

Re: Problem with a cloned BackServer

Post by jmai » Apr 04, 2019 6:53 am

Hello,

yes, we have cloned our Veeam B&R Server while we had Agentbackup and Cloudbackup runing on this. With the new version we cant run both on the same server so we cloned him. Now we have one server for Agentbackup(1) and one for Cloudbackup(2).
The Cloudbackupserver is the result of the cloning, we changed there the name and included him with a agent backup on the other server. But when we look at server 1 in the job of the server 2, there is always standing that the name is still the one from the server 1.
The result is that we cant include him on our BackupCopy job.

I hope you can understand better our problem.

Regards...

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17000
Liked: 1455 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Problem with a cloned BackServer

Post by veremin » Apr 04, 2019 6:27 pm

You'd better reach our support team and let them correct product db, chances are, there are still stalled references (result of server cloning). Thanks!

jmai
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:03 am
Full Name: J.Mai
Contact:

Re: Problem with a cloned BackServer

Post by jmai » Apr 15, 2019 9:17 am

Hello,

ive searched the whole MSSQL DB for the wrong servername, but nothing found. Ive also exported the veeam Agent config, but also nothing wrong there.
So any idea where the references can be?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17000
Liked: 1455 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Problem with a cloned BackServer

Post by veremin » Apr 15, 2019 6:01 pm

It might be referenced by Id, not by name, so, please, reach our support team for further investigation. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], nmdange and 18 guests