Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Luneal87
Lurker
Liked: never

Proper job settings to backup to NAS

Post by Luneal87 »

Hi,
I hope this question is correct here:
I am new to Veeam and want to setup a NAS as a second backup target.
Since the backup requirements for this secondary storage differ from the ones in the backup to disk job I don't think I can use the backup-copy job but rather have to create a new one.

My aim here is to setup the job to do a backup of the server once every month as incremental backups. When a new year starts I want to make a new chain, so start again. The old backups are supposed to be deleted. The NAS is only a "in case of emergency" secondary smaller storage than my actual backup target, so long chains are neither required nor useful.

I am simply not sure if i set it up correctly or not:
I set the retention policy to 12 restore points and checked active full on the first monday on january.
Is that enough to fullfill my target or to i have to setup more? I'm almost sure i missed something, or is Veeam really that simple?
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2889 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Proper job settings to backup to NAS

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.
I set the retention policy to 12 restore points and checked active full on the first monday on january.
that's fine to meet the monthly backup and one full a year. The only thing that cannot be achieved natively is to delete everything older backups than the January full. That would violate the "12 restore points" rule.
The NAS is only a "in case of emergency" secondary smaller storage than my actual backup target, so long chains are neither required nor useful.
a backup copy job with a few restore points does exactly that. Just keep in mind, to have a gateway server in your secondary location (or good bandwidth). That's needed for merges / applying retention.