Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jbrullemans
Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 09, 2011 8:22 am
Full Name: John Brullemans
Contact:

provide service console credentials.

Post by jbrullemans »

Can i expect an increase of backup / restore speed if i enter service console credentials if so what speed can i expect? We are using Virtual Appliance mode.
At the moment we don't have remote SSH enabled on our ESX server. If this would increase our backup and restore significantly i could enable it. But what is the risk of it?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24249
Liked: 1860 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: provide service console credentials.

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello John,

There is no risk, providing service console credentials will surely make full VM restore procedures faster as well as replica jobs that are using these hosts as destination targets. You may want to search these forums for some examples from our existing users for more info.

On a side note, in order to increase source data retrieval with VA mode, make sure you have 4 vCPUs assigned to this VM and you're not starving on CPU resources while backup jobs are running.

Thank you.

jbrullemans
Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 09, 2011 8:22 am
Full Name: John Brullemans
Contact:

Re: provide service console credentials.

Post by jbrullemans »

Hi Vitaly S.

I have 4vcpu for the VM but when the backup runs i can see that all 4 vcpu are nearly 99% of load. Will adding more vCPU's speed up the backups?
At the moment i cannot add more because of the restriction of VMware Vsphere 4 license. It only allows me to configure 4 vCPU's.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19459
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: provide service console credentials.

Post by foggy »

Generally getting high CPU load especially when running multiple jobs is quite normal as compression is being performed on-the-fly. Adding more vCPU's will definitely help but if you have no ability to do so, try to configure jobs with less compression settings, this will increase CPU load and speed up the backup process, however resulting in larger backups.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], brunom and 54 guests