Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
KOJGrIT
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 21, 2010 4:13 pm
Full Name: Kolbjørn Jensen
Contact:

Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by KOJGrIT »

When using Veeam in Appliance mode, will it copy the attached disk block by block, or will it copy file for file?

peter.dyer
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 10, 2010 5:05 pm
Full Name: Peter Dyer
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by peter.dyer »

All backups, regardless of mode, are block by block.

KOJGrIT
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 21, 2010 4:13 pm
Full Name: Kolbjørn Jensen
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by KOJGrIT »

Thanks for the replay.

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by albertwt »

@KOJGrIT: what do you mean by appliance mode ? do you install and configure a Windows Server VM to be the backup server of the other virtual server in the same SAN ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28934
Liked: 5289 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by Gostev »

Albert, please refer to sticky FAQ topic (right under New Topic button) for extensive information about the Virtual Appliance mode. Thanks!

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by albertwt »

thanks for your reply Gostev, I found this to be interesting:
Q: I have iSCSI SAN and running Veeam Backup in a VM. Can I use direct SAN access mode?
A: Yes, you need to configuring direct SAN access using Microsoft iSCSI Software Initiator bundled with Windows. Our customers report best results with Windows 2008 R2. If your Veeam Backup is installed on Windows 2003, be sure to review the corresponding known issue of the Release Notes document.
So in this case the VM must be installed with the following:
Microsoft iSCSI software initiator - Windows Server 2008 R2
one vNIC - Enhanced VMXNet3 connected to the production network (Internal LAN subnet vswitch label)
one vNIC - Enhanced VMXNet3 connected for each iSCSI network connected to this ESXi (iSCSI LAN subnet vswitch label) ?

cmiiw.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28934
Liked: 5289 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by Gostev »

Yes.

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Question about backing up in Appliance mode

Post by albertwt »

thanks for the clarification man, I'll implement this feature tomorrow :-)
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 52 guests